Snorkeling adventure


wwest210730_0218.jpg

Should have shaved my beard

break.png

One of the things that I was most excited about while we were in Mexico was our snorkeling tour. I didn't realize that my beard was going to keep me from enjoying it to the fullest. We booked our trip with a company called Oceanus. The tickets cost me $40 each and they include an open bar for the whole trip and lunch after snorkeling.


wwest210730_0130.jpg

The trip starts off at the marina in Cabo and it takes you past the arch and Lover's Beach. Then it is about a 30 minute boat ride out to the place where they let you out for snorkeling. A perfect amount of time to have a few drinks and enjoy the sea breeze.


wwest210730_0136.jpg

The drinks were pretty good, but I didn't want to have too many BEFORE we went into the water. The boat is pretty large and had a main deck and a roof deck for checking out the amazing views. The crew was pretty awesome too and was doing everything they could to make sure people were having a good time.


wwest210730_0140.jpg

One of the things that I want to do next time we visit is to go parasailing. There were so many parasailing behind boats and it looks like a ton of fun.


wwest210730_0161.jpg

Once we got to our destination, we had a quick safety brief and then jumped off the boat into the water. This was about the time that I realized that having a beard was a bad idea. My mask was leaking water into my nose the entire time and sea water in the nose and down into the back of the throat tastes pretty bad.


wwest210730_0167.jpg

I did manage to get some decent shots in between almost puking and drowning though.


wwest210730_0176.jpg

It was my wife's first time snorkeling though and she loved it. There were so many fish and they kept swarming around us because one of the guides was throwing tortilla pieces around and feeding them.


wwest210730_0177.jpg

One thing I did not like about the trip was that it was pretty crowded in the water because the fish were only above a small reef area and everyone crowded together, so it was pretty cramped and a lot of flippers in a small area doesn't work out too well.


wwest210730_0178.jpg

There also wasn't as big of a variety of fish as I had hoped there would have been. There was a puffer fish that people saw, but I may have been too busy almost puking up sea water and missed it. If I would have puked though, the fish would have swarmed me and I would have gotten some nice close ups.


wwest210730_0179.jpg

These fish are fast too. I grabbed at a few of them and was only able to touch them a couple times. Their spikes were pretty sharp and they had some pretty strong bodies.


wwest210730_0193.jpg

If my mask sealed properly, I would have been diving down further to get some shots from the bottom, but there was no way I could have done that.


wwest210730_0198.jpg

Overall, we were in the water for about 45 minutes. Some of the tours go to multiple spots and I wish that we would have done that because the chances of seeing more fish would have been higher.


wwest210730_0215.jpg

It was still a pretty fun time and I am glad that my wife was able to go snorkeling for the first time.


wwest210730_0216.jpg

Overall, the Oceanus snorkeling trip was a lot of fun and the food and drinks on the boat were really good. On the way back, we had fresh tuna and some fruit. I am not a big fan of seafood, but the tuna was really good and I went back and got some more. I guess fresh seafood is a lot better than the crap I have bought in the stores.

Thanks for taking the time to check out my snorkeling photos. I am going to be putting together a video of the footage I shot while snorkeling and I may post it here. Next time I go snorkeling though, I will make sure to have a smooth face so my mask seals and I can enjoy it more.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
43 Comments
Ecency