Flying over Estes Park, Colorado


wwest210328_0064.jpg

Photo by me

Such a cool area

break.png

Estes Park, Colorado is such a cool area with some amazing landscapes and wildlife. When I packed my drone for this trip, I was excited to fly it around and see how this area would look from the sky. But when I got here, and I was unpacking my drone, I realized that I didn't pack my charger for the drone batteries. Luckily there was still some juice in them, so I would be able to get one decent flight in.


wwest210328_0066.jpg

Photo by me

It is pretty windy here and my drone was having a hard time staying steady and kept drifting away from where it was trying to hover. So I knew that the flight was going to have to be quick because I didn't want to get too far away and have to fly against the wind and not make it back.


wwest210328_0065.jpg

Photo by me

Estes Park, Colorado is a small town situated near the entrance to the Rocky Mountain National Park. It is illegal to fly drones in the national park, which kind of sucks cause it would be AMAZING to fly around in the park and get some awesome landscape shots.


wwest210328_0068.jpg

Photo by me

The shot above is of a trout fishing pond. In the winter, the pond freezes over and there is a tiny shack in the middle for ice fishing. I have never been ice fishing, and I will never go ice fishing. I suck at fishing anyways and usually get pretty bored cause I never catch anything, so being cold and bored is not my ideal way to spend time.


wwest210328_0069.jpg

Photo by me

These photos look like they were taken with a tilt shift lens. I love the look of tilt shift lenses because it makes everything look like they are miniature. I got this effect by blurring out the sides of the photos in Lightroom.


wwest210328_0071.jpg

Photo by me

I have been having an awesome time out here. I just wish that it wasn't so cold so that we could have gone out on some hikes in the park. I bet we would have been able to see some really cool animals, but it is too cold and too much snow on the ground. I don't feel like getting a few miles out and be freezing and have to hike back to the car.


wwest210328_0072.jpg

Photo by me


wwest210328_0075.jpg

Photo by me

Thanks for taking the time to check out my post and see how awesome this place is. I am going to have to plan another trip out here with my wife and kids during the spring or summer when we can go out hiking. It would be pretty awesome to camp inside the park. I just wouldn't want to have a run in with a bear while out in the woods.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
19 Comments
Ecency