Can't wait to get out and travel again!


wwest191105_2515.jpg

Photo by me

So many memories

break.png

I can't wait for all of this COVID stuff to go away. I am itching to go out and travel again. The last big place that I went to was when my wife and I went to Thailand for Steemfest. It was my wife's first time out of the country and it was so great to be able to travel with her and make memories together.


wwest191105_2385.jpg

Photo by me

This was the view from our hotel in Bangkok. It was our first views of this awesome city. We had so many great times here, from exploring the back alleys, riding the boat to the different venues and visiting the different temples in the city.


wwest191105_2472.jpg

Photo by me

Wat Saket or The Temple of the Golden Mount was such a cool place. It was a temple at the top of a manmade hill and you had to climb up about 300 steps to get to the top and the whole climb is decorated with so many cool things to see.


wwest191105_2606.jpg

Photo by me

One of the coolest things about traveling the world is being able to experience the different cultures.


wwest191106_2839.jpg

Photo by me

It was so awesome to see so many cool places while we were there. We really enjoyed the different temples that we went to and I just wish that we were able to spend more time there so we could see more of them.


wwest191105_2443.jpg

Photo by me

Another great thing about traveling is getting to try the food. Thailand has some of the best food in the world and the street food is on a whole nother level.


wwest191106_2793.jpg

Photo by me

I am not a fan of seafood, but it sure does look cool and make pretty cool pictures. When I lived in Korea, I tried the squid on a stick and I did not like it at all.


wwest191110_3786.jpg

Photo by me

This little dessert dish was awesome. It was like a fruit omelet with sweetened condensed milk drizzled on the top of it. The first time we had it was from a vendor at one of the temples and after that, we had to get one from just about every vendor we saw making them. It was the perfect snack for while you were on the go.


wwest191108_3390.jpg

Photo by me

The place where we had the OCD Art Show had some pretty awesome coffee and desserts. That was where I got my first taste of durian fruit ice cream and it was awesome. After that, everywhere we went, I was on the look out for some fresh durian fruit. My wife thought it smelled horrible but I thought it was pretty good.


wwest191106_2892.jpg

Photo by me

Riding in the tuk tuks was also a super fun experience. It was a cheap and fun way to get around the city and riding in them at night was super cool. It was a lot of fun whizzing around the city weaving in and out of the traffic.


wwest191107_3213.jpg

Photo by me

There was so much to do in Bangkok while we were there. We went to so many different temples and tried to see as much as we could.


wwest191109_3499.jpg

Photo by me

The reclining Buddha at Wat Pho was a really cool site. This thing was massive.


wwest191109_3555.jpg

Photo by me

All of the temples had such cool intricate designs. I wonder how long some of these took to build and how many people worked on them.


wwest191112_0005.jpg

Photo by me

After about 5 days in Bangkok, we decided to head to Pattaya for the beach and spent the remainder of our time there.


wwest191110_3706.jpg

Photo by me

The night we got to Pattaya was the annual lantern festival. My wife and I had always dreamed of seeing this in person and we had no clue that we would get to spend the night on the beach during the festival.


wwest191110_3671.jpg

Photo by me

It was such an amazing experience. The next time we visit Thailand, we are going to plan our trip around the same time and go to the lantern festival in Chiang Mai. I wish that we could have spent some time in Chiang Mai because that is my dream home. One day we are hoping to move to Thailand for a while and live there.


wwest191111_3806.jpg

Photo by me

One of the coolest places we went while in Thailand was the Sanctuary of Truth. It is a massive temple build completely out of wood.

The sanctuary is perhaps best described as a monument to Thai craftsmanship, with its stunningly detailed carvings of elephants, people and scenes, creatures and deities from mythology. They pay homage to and are a reflection of the Ancient Vision of Earth, Ancient Knowledge and Eastern Philosophy and they adorn every single surface – both inside and out – of the building. They are also a reflection of the fleeting nature and ceaseless toil of human existence because none of the wood is treated or protected from the elements, meaning that older parts gradually succumb to the rigours of the weather and climate and need to be replaced. The construction of the sanctuary, which began in 1981, is an on-going, never-ending task. source


wwest191111_3889.jpg

Photo by me

There was so many awesome things to see there at the Sanctuary of Truth. It will be cool to go there again with the kids so they can see everything.


wwest191112_4339.jpg

Photo by me

Thailand was such an amazing place. Hopefully we can all get back to some resemblance of normal again soon. My wife and I are ready to get back out there and see the world.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency