Autumn Leaves at Korankei ~ Beauty of Japan

I am finally getting some time to edit some of my Korankei photos! I'm going to hold off the pinmapple post about the area until I have edited more, so I thought I'd share some of the few I did get through to the photography lovers community. Hope you guys enjoy!

There are over 4000 maple trees in this valley, of eleven different types. And here are a few. It is said the first was planted in 1634 by a local Buddhist priest and the locals have been adding to that year by year ever since.

Every year this area is just completely packed with people. It is one of the most popular places in Japan to see the autumn leaves, and maybe you can see why.

I try to come here every year. I'll catch the 5am bus and stay until the final bus back after nightfall. The traffic into this place is insane, so the bus is the best solution I think. 5am is usually before the traffic in has started. Yeah, that means I have to wake up around 4 so I'm very tired by the end of this day, but that's a trade I'm more than happy to make to see these leaves.

Another perk to taking the bus in and out: I'm free to sample the sake sold at many of the small stands set throughout the valley. Now as expected, any stall selling food or drinks within here charge an arm and a leg. We're not talking Disney prices, but they are high. Luckily, some of the stalls give small free samples. Lucky!

Usually the leaves in this place last about a month, from around mid November to mid December. Usually. This year a lot of rain just a week in robbed us of that month. So it goes. But we still got some very nice days, and I was lucky enough to catch one of them.

Well, there we go. That's all for now! As I edit more, I'll do another of these posts. I think I'll share all the photos to this group or liketu, then I'll do a big round-up post about the area and put it on pinmapple.

Anyway, enjoy! Let me know if you have any questions about anything.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency