What do you call a windmill without sails?

While it was my day off and the weather was lovely, I thought I'd have a drive out to Skidby Mill in East Yorkshire, about an hour from home.
The weather was lovely and the roads surprisingly empty for the Easter holidays.

I'd been wanting to go back as I'd been a few years previously and thought it to be a brilliant place, it does have a lovely coffee shop in one of the mill buildings.

When I got there this time, I was a little disappointed as the sails had been taken off the mill for refurbishment, although the coffee shop was open and couldn't resist a latte.


(A couple of shots from my first visit).

The sails on the mill have been taken off by a professional millwright, it was found that two of the sails had been damaged beyond repair while the other two have been repaired. These should have been fitted back to the mill in 2021 which incidentally is the windmills 200th birthday, but as of yet they haven't completed the work, although they are back at the mill as if you look on the picture below, you can see the sails in the yard.

The sails are massive, each 11 metres in length, an iconic building on the East Riding landscape, and unusual in surviving windmills as this mill also has it's original out buildings, I have said this before about places, but it is really like walking back in time.

If you have seen my other post about North Leverton Windmill, there's a massive size difference between the two mills, this windmill is almost twice the height of North Leverton.

The mill is surrounded by field after field, the only change I can really see about the surrounding area, is one of the small fields (the one on the left in the picture above), is now a playground for the kids that visit.

I got the shot of a beautiful Ringlet butterfly when I went there the first time, although it was later in the summer, so I will be going back in the year to grab some more shots later in the year.

I really hope you've enjoyed this post, and who doesn't love a good windmill?

Thanks for reading my blog,

All the best :-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency