The Milky Way, Comet Hunting & UFOs

If you have been following my posts, you will know that I am on my holidays in Norfolk, just north of Great Yarmouth, I have to say I am really enjoying it here, and the skies at night are beautiful looking out over the North Sea, for the past few nights we've had a sea fret, but last night, even thought it was there, it wasn't as bad as previous nights, so I thought I would try and photograph the milky way.

I had a great time and was out there for about an hour, unfortunately due to sea fret, it was causing a glow so some of my pictures are a bit oddly lit, however, seeing the meteors even with the naked eye was brilliant.

As you can see from the first image and the one above, there was certainly some strange lights do all these weird manoeuvres in the sky, I thought I can't miss this and took a couple of shots which captured the flight path with the lights we could see, I'm thinking to myself "What is this?", and believed I saw at least one UFO, sadly this was a false alarm as the planes flew away we could hear their engines on full thrust. After speaking with one of my friends, it was the cobra warrior combat exercise. UK, US, Norwegian and Canadian fighters have been doing this for the past week,

As I am only 2 minutes from the beach, I thought I would try and photography Comet Nishimura, knowing that I'd need to be before sunrise I had to get my timing right to try and see the comet, I DID IT!!!

Can you see the comet on the picture above?

If you look almost dead centre, you will be able to see it, it was still feinter that I thought it would be and I couldn't see it on the camera display, but when I got it on the computer, I was so pleased, this comet will not come back around at least for another 437 years, the other comet I photographed was Neowise, and I think that will come back round in a few thousand years.

Above is a wider shot, and I've put some small text with an arrow pointing towards the comet, if you zoom in you will be able to see the green comet and a bit of it's tale Don't let the shot fool you though, it was much much darker than it appears and I was still having to use my torch to see what I was doing, I've uploaded this picture as I love it, especially with the reflection of light of Venus on the sea's surface.

Tomorrow I have an idea for another milkyway shot, however, it needs to stay clear from fog and obviously clear skies. Fingers crossed.

Shot using a Sony A7iii camera, with a Samyang 14mm f/2.8 lens, also used a Canon 40mm f/2.8 pancake lens (which is rather good!).

Anyhow that's it from me today, I really hope you've like the blog and of course the photography.

Thanks for reading,

All the best :-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency