One of the most beautiful views I’ve seen.

I am spending a few nights in the lake district, last night we stayed on a campsite called the quiet site, it certsinly lived up to it’s name, however, the details of that will come in a different post as i wanted to show some of the beautiful shots i managed to get this morning.

After checking out of the lovely site, we headed down the back roads to meet the main road at the side of Ullswater, we were in a red squirrel area, and we actually managed to see not one, but two of these lovely animals. For those that dont live in the UK, the red squirrel is the native squirrel, sadly the grey squirrel has taken over in most parts of thhe UK, so the reds are only in small pockets around the country.

This is the first time ive ever seen one and certainly made my day as I thought I would never get the chance.

The next stop was Castle Rigg Stone Circle, somewhere that has been on my bucket list for years. The weather, even for English standards hasn’t been the best, we’ve had quite a lot of rain of the past few days, but he low cloud really added to the atmosphere of te shots.


I did manage to get the drone up for two shots, as I took this, the heavens decided to open, so I brought it back down, although I do like a good aeriel shot.

The stone circle is thought to have been built around 3000 BC, and thought to be one of the earliest in the country. Unlike some stone circles, this one isn’t a burial ground and hasn’t been fully excavated.

The views from the circle are absolutely stunning with a 360 view of different mountains in the distance, some are the highest I’ve seen, well England at least.
I really need to return here, its literally 5 minutes from Keswick, a lovely little town nestled in the valley, such a beautiful part of the county that needs further exploration.

I’m typing this on my tablet that seems to be lagging a bit, so sorry for any typos on this post, although I really do hope you like the pictures.

More stuff to come.

All the best…

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
13 Comments
Ecency