Finally, a new adventure!

With one thing after another I've not got out with the camera or the drone, work has put my hours up over the xmas period and as it seems to be, usually on my days off the weather isn't much good.

Thankfully, after doing 8 days on, on my single day off I the weather was just right to get some photography done, and ofcourse, get the drone in the air.

I messaged my friend to see if he would let me go and shoot a couple of shots of this lovely mausoleum, he was in and he said he'd open the gate, this monument is only usually accessible by the public on sundays over the summer months, so I had to whole place to myself.

Originally the four columns around the mausoleum wasn't there, but they were put there after the government granted permission for open cast mining on the grounds of Wentworth Woodhouse.

A little history about the monument (taken from Wikipedia):

The Rockingham Mausoleum, Wentworth, near Rotherham, South Yorkshire, England is a cenotaph commemorating Charles Watson-Wentworth, 2nd Marquess of Rockingham, who was Prime Minister at the time of his death in 1782.[2] The name by which the memorial is now known is in fact a misnomer, since Charles Watson-Wentworth is buried in York Minster. Eighteenth and nineteenth century sources refer to the edifice simply as "the Monument".

Click here to visit the wikipedia page about this fine monument.

There are certainly beautiful views over the Wentworth estate from here, and it is so peaceful, one of my favourite local spots.

There was a shoot on the day I went though, which I don't agree with this sport, but I had to wait for them to pass over the area for my own safety as well as my drones safety too lol.

It was great to have a fly again, but sadly this is the last one before Christmas, I was hoping for more adventures to post, but again due to time and weather, things are rather thin for for now.

I'm looking forward to a week off work at the end of January and hoping to get some epic photography done.

But, for now, I just want to wish you all a very Merry Christmas and a Happy New Year, all the best for 2023.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency