Bamburgh Castle & Sand Dunes...

I've been itching to photograph this castle for years, although it's not what I expected. It is (as you can probably imagine) a massive tourist attraction for the very small village of Bamburgh, costing around £14.50 per adult for entry (cheaper for children and concessions), with the hundreds of visitors each day, the owners certainly don't have to work for a living, this is a privately owned castle.

I really wanted to get a shot on the beach, twice I've been to the castle and both times the light has been terrible, I have to say, we had some sunny days in Northumberland, and even though I was staying in a designated dark sky area, I saw one star all week, it was just constantly cloudy, but this didn't ruin the holiday as I had a fantastic time.

I'd seen shots similar to the above one, and wanted to snag my own, we parked in the castle with was a £4.00 parking fee, but works out cheaper than the one on the main road, if memory serves me correctly, that was £5.00 for only 3 hours stay.

Looking over the dunes, I plotted my route, at first they were easy to walk on as the sand was quite compact, but as I got further into them, this made for hard walking, as you were sinking as you were moving, a great workout, but give me solid sand any day lol.

I finally got my shot, I would like to go back when the tide is in a bit further and obviously, better light, maybe some sort of long exposure, but alas, was not to be on this visit, I still like the shots, but certainly not ones for my portfolio.

This is just a short post for tonight, but I will be posting a blog in the next couple of days for my visit to Hadrians Wall and Chesters Fort, another place that I've been wanting to visit for years.

Thanks for reading and I really hope you like it.

All the best :-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency