A Spooky Night in Whitby.

A few months ago we saw that English Heritage were going to be lighting up Whitby Abbey for the Halloween week, so we decided to get the tickets and book a room for the night.

Things were a bit hit and miss as my girlfriend has had a really bad cold, and it knocked her for six, so I cancelled the room as we thought we wouldn't be going.

The day after I cancelled the room she started to feel a bit better, so we decided to go and see the abbey, but just go for a day trip, although I would have loved to have stopped there, but we weren't to know she would be better.


(I made a little friend in Whitby)

We got there in the afternoon as we weren't allowed into the abbey, so as it's the law, we went for some fish and chips, we headed down towards the pier as there's a chippy called "Mr Chips", and I'd heard good things about it, I didn't take a picture of my dinner though as I was ravenous, it wasn't bad, not the best fish and chips I've had, but far from the worst.

It had been bad weather all morning, thankfully the rain had eased off, but there was a threat of rain at any time, then all of a sudden, we got some beautiful light and the clouds cleared.

I even saw a couple of Eurofighter Typhoons doing some training.

We then headed back up to the car, we parked up near the abbey, so we had to go up the famous 199 steps, again I didn't get a picture, but there was a photographer on the steps taking the obligatory shot of a lamp post looking at the steps going down into the old town of Whitby.

We had to hang around for a about 20 mins, so sat in the car until they opened the doors to allow us in the abbey.

It really was great to wander around the abbey at night, with it lit up with alternating colours.

As I got inside, I headed straight up to the pond, and to my surprise, there were already loads of photographers there, so I set up where I could, but didn't want to take too many of the same shots, but I was more than happy with what I did get.
Also, had a good chin-wag with a a couple of other photographers, I always like to make photographer friends :-)

My girlfriend found the above view, so had to get a shot, yes, I did steel this one, but she has got a good eye even though she's not into photography.


I noticed someone flying a drone over whitby and the abbey, a few too many people there, so naughty naughty.


The final view of the abbey on our way back to the car park.

Overall we had a great day, I wish there could be a special photographer ticket we could buy so we could get in without everyone around, however, it certainly didn't spoil the night. Not only did they light it up, but there was also Dracula being played out, seeing as Whitby and the abbey was some form of inspiration for Bram Stoker when he wrote Dracula.

I highly recommend visiting when you can. I'll certainly be going back again next year.

All shots by myself.

Shot using a Sony A7iii with a Canon 24-105mm F/4.0 L lens and a Samyang 14mm F/2.8 wide angle lens.

I really hope you've enjoyed this spooky post and thanks for reading..

All the best :-)

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency