The Cuban shoemaker.

1000150298.jpg

I remember that when I was a child, I used to walk past his house, and he and his sister would kindly greet me. Also, I would see him sitting, working at almost any time of the day.

Recuerdo que cuando era niño, solía pasar frente a su casa, y él y su hermana me saludaban amablemente. Además, lo veía sentado, trabajando a casi cualquier hora del día.

1000150309.jpg

Israel has been working as a shoemaker for more than 5 years, one of the trades he has learned throughout his life to survive. Despite the scarcity of raw materials, he manages to give a second life to all the shoes entrusted to him, often by his own neighbors and other customers who live farther away in the village.

Israel lleva más de 5 años trabajando como zapatero, uno de los oficios que ha aprendido a lo largo de su vida para sobrevivir. A pesar de la escasez de materia prima, se las arregla para darle una segunda vida a todos los zapatos que le confían, a menudo por sus propios vecinos y otros clientes que viven más lejos en el pueblo.

1000150310.jpg

Today Israel allowed me to accompany him. We talked for over half an hour. I showed him my photographic work, and he told me what he thought about it. Throughout the time I was with him, he told me how he learned the shoemaking trade.

Hoy Israel me permitió acompañarlo. Hablamos durante más de media hora. Le mostré mi trabajo fotográfico, y me dijo qué pensaba al respecto. A lo largo del tiempo que estuve con él, me contó cómo aprendió el oficio de la zapatería.

1000150301.jpg

"Watching a cobbler," was what he told me. That simple. One day, he approached a cobbler and watched how he glued soles onto shoes.

"Mirando a un zapatero," fue lo que me dijo. Tan simple como eso. Un día, se acercó a un zapatero y observó cómo pegaba las suelas en los zapatos.

1000150307.jpg

With dedication, he learned, sought the tools he needed, and practiced and practiced.

Con dedicación, aprendió, buscó las herramientas que necesitaba, y practicó y practicó.

1000150299.jpg

"To know how to look," I thought as I listened to him,how important it is to see what we have in front of us.

"Saber mirar", pensé mientras lo escuchaba, qué importante es ver lo que tenemos delante.

1000150308.jpg

The elderly and their stories are two topics that fascinate me to explore in photography, as I feel a special connection with this stage of life.

Los ancianos y sus historias son dos temas que me fascinan explorar en la fotografía, ya que siento una conexión especial con esta etapa de la vida.

I alone cannot change the reality of the world, of my world, even if it is as small as a village. My photographs will speak for me and for the people or things I show. If I can show that something is happening, that someone needs help, that someone is suffering and can be helped, I will do it.

Yo solo no puedo cambiar la realidad del mundo, de mi mundo, aunque sea tan pequeño como un pueblo. Mis fotografías hablarán por mí y por las personas o cosas que muestro. Si puedo mostrar que algo está sucediendo, que alguien necesita ayuda, que alguien está sufriendo y puede ser ayudado, lo haré.

1000150312.jpg

The focus of my photographic work is people, so the camera will always be the most powerful tool to tell their story, beyond the words I can write to complement the images.

El enfoque de mi trabajo fotográfico es la gente, por lo que la cámara será siempre la herramienta más poderosa para contar su historia, más allá de las palabras que pueda escribir para complementar las imágenes.

1000150311.jpg

Santa Fé is a village where we can see many sociological contrasts, and it is my village. Although this man's reality may be so distant from my own reality or yours, dear reader, I believe it also deserves to be shown.

Santa Fé es un pueblo donde podemos ver muchos contrastes sociológicos, y es mi pueblo. Aunque la realidad de este hombre pueda estar tan lejos de mi propia realidad o de la tuya, querido lector, creo que también merece ser mostrada.


Thank you for reading/gracias por leer.


Text.@crisvictorero
Camera.Canon 6D Mark II + 50 mm 1.8
Natural light.
Photographs.@crisvictorero
Revealed.Adobe Lightroom 2022
Location.La Habana, Cuba.

photo_2023-12-19_19-43-08.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
Join the conversation now