The People of Hawthorne Street Fair

There was a vendors fair on my street a couple weekends ago. What with the delta variant, there weren't nearly as many vendors or attendants as there have been in previous, non-pandemic years, but it still gave me the opportunity to practice my skills in photographing people.
These characters were dancing and saw me with my camera. They were kind enough to pose for me. I sent them the photos. Told them now that they've got the band photo, they need to start a band.
DSC_3440.JPG

Portland has some cute couples.
DSC_3491.JPG

DSC_3464.JPG

The city is full of creatives. You don't have to go to a street fair to find them, but this was a good chance to catch some shots on the DL.
DSC_3463.JPG
This guy is always around. He seems to have a great time just playing and singing at the top of his lungs regardless of whether anyone is paying attention or not. But we shared a smile when I took this shot.
DSC_3459.JPG

Ok so maybe the stiltwalker isn't out every weekend...
DSC_3384.JPG
But I see this guy sometimes throughout the summer.
DSC_3475.JPG

DSC_3480.JPG

There were a couple good blues bands on either end of the fair, but because of the low attendance, they didn't have much of an audience.
DSC_3656.JPG
Portland gets all kinds of canvassers on a daily basis, rain or shine, but I thought these were pretty unique.
DSC_3637.JPG
I share these images only as art, not as a personal or political statement.
DSC_3676.JPG
Portland has a nonprofit organization called Street Roots that allows the homeless and out-of-work population to sell the Street Roots paper and make money. Hopefully this guy made a little extra cash that day.
DSC_3403.JPG
Some of the stores brought their business out into the street.
DSC_3446.JPG

DSC_3659.JPG

DSC_3658.JPG
This looks like a fancy festival bus that you might only see at a fair, but it's actually just across the street from me, open every day. They make some amazing Turkish coffee.
DSC_3664.JPG
This crazy vintage store with its quirky window display is always there, too.
DSC_3457.JPG
And the crows are there every day, too, believe it or not...
DSC_3592.JPG
Thanks for looking.


a percentage of this post's rewards goes back to support the community and the guy in the middle seems really excited about that
DSC_3443.JPG
You can see more black and white photos of the street fair in my post Memory Lane, or Hawthorne Boulevard?

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency