Tulips and Juleps

tulips_from_below.jpg

The tulips are starting to fade around here and I'm going to have to find something else to shoot here soon. Luckily, Thunder Over Louisville (an airshow and fireworks extravaganza) is going on this Saturday and that's always fun to shoot. Thunder was cancelled last year on account of covid but they're going ahead with it this year, albeit in an abbreviated form. Thunder is the official start to the Kentucky Derby Festival and means the Derby is just two weeks away.

volunteer_tulips.jpg

With Derby almost upon us, that means it's mint julep season! Although I haven't had one in over ten years, the julep is still my favorite mixed drink. All you need to make one is bourbon, simple syrup, mint, ice, and water. You can buy premade mixes (that's what Churchill Downs uses for their juleps) but they don't taste the same, fixing one up from scratch is the way to go. To make one you muddle the mint and the simple syrup together for a bit, then you add your bourbon, pack with ice (crushed/shaved works best) and garnish with a sprig of mint.

I can't talk about the Derby and not share the song above. Several years ago someone went to the Derby, did LSD, and then wrote a VICE article about the experience. As it turns out, it was the lead singer's girlfriend who did that and this song come from that. It also does a good job of capturing the love/hate relationship people in this city have with the Derby.

tulip_closeup.jpg

Hopefully I should be getting a macro lens to play with soon, I can't wait to experiment with it. I've never used one before so it should be fun. Not sure what to shoot with it though, what's your favorite photo subjects for macro shots? I will leave you with one last tulip photo and then I won't make you look at'em for a day or two. Take it easy and have a mint julep for me!

three_in_a_row_tulips.jpg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency