A Short Christmas Walk

IMG_5999_1.jpeg

A Christmas Walk


In December, I took a quick walk down to the Levee Street boat launch and moorage floats in Hoquiam, Wash., just as dawn was breaking.

Often in our Pacific Northwest winter, we get only a peek of sun for the entire day, at dawn or dusk, through a crack on the horizon beneath a ceiling of clouds. I didn't want to miss it.

The sky was just turning colors behind Simpson Avenue Bridge when I arrived.

IMG_5987_1.jpeg

I walked out to the farthest point on the moorage floats, where the Hustler was tied up...

IMG_6042.jpeg

IMG_6037_1.jpeg

...to get the best view of the bridge and the water.

IMG_6026_1.jpeg

Upriver, Riverside Bridge glowed briefly.

IMG_6005_1.jpeg

There were Christmas lights (and Christmas trees) in the water.

IMG_6013_1.jpeg

And Christmas colors on the bank.

IMG_6058_1.jpeg

IMG_6061_2.jpeg

I did not see 'nine ladies dancing', but I did catch some whales at it.

IMG_6046_1.jpeg

I packed up to leave with a surprising promise of blue skies ahead.

IMG_6070_1.jpeg

Merry Christmas and Happy New Year!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency