50 shades of orange

At my local photo club, one of the themes we had was: orange.
So I looked around on the web to try to find some ideas, went shopping at the dollar store and also at the florist and started trying things out at home.

_D802286.jpg
Started simply with a slice of orange, backlit with a speedlight and used a spray bottle for the particles. Not sure what I used to hold the slice in place but I think it was toothpicks.


BFG_3638.jpg
This was supposed to be kind of a graphic picture. It was a very simple idea and I thought it would work out well, but I'm a perfectionist and I had a hard time placing all the pencils exactly where they were supposed to be. The background is simply an orange napkin. I thought that the image was good, but nothing amazing.


BFG_3649.jpg
I really liked this one though. Again, this was very easy, I only poured some orange crush (soda pop) in a glass, used a flash behind the glass and took some shots of the bubbles using some generic macro tubes on a Nikon 60mm.


BFG_3689.jpg
Finally tried taking pictures with the flower I had bought at the florist. All the bigger water droplets were carefully placed with a dropper and they were a mix of water and glycerin (about half/half). For the smaller droplets, I used the spray bottle. To get that nice black background, I just asked my sweetie @chaosgeek to hold the stem while I was taking the picture with the flash very close to the flower. Because of the inverse square root law, the light wouldn't get any further than the flower.


BFG_3667.jpg
This was my final choice for the theme and I came in first place at the photo club with that one. The hardest part was to figure out how I was going to frame the picture. Sometimes you want to show everything in a picture but most of the time, what works best is when you focus only on the subject and you dive deep into it, and that's what I did.

Hope you enjoy those pictures. I will try to keep publishing about all kinds of photography in here.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency