Community photography competition:Female portraits

My entry in the Community photography competition:Female portraits Amateur tier

IMG_20210222_195945.jpg
They say a picture tells a thousand words and that is the aim of a good portrait-it gives an insight into someone's life and soul. It is hard to capture these insights unless the subject is relaxed and comfortable in their own skin and happy to share this private moment.
I love taking portraits for this connection between me and the subject and also because I love monochrome-this medium really lends itself tp people images in some cases.
I'm no pro so these images don't involve any fancy lighting, studios or fanciful backdrops or staged situations-just a rapport with the person being photographed.
I won't go into any indepth descriptions of these 3 women suffice to say I am connected to all of them on a personal level and they all inspire me in different ways. I'll let the images do the talking.
You decide if monochrome works in these shots

IMG_20210414_164335.jpg
Annette:63 and still inking up. Tired sore and proud after a 4 hour inking session.
Ann.jpg

IMG_20200129_143014.jpg

My mother:On her 91st birthday with her favourite childhood bear:Forever young

()

Legh-Anne with her much loved giant rabbt:A loving Mother Earth spirit

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency