This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

Keep it Simple

"Style is a simple way of saying complicated things" - Jean Cocteau


I think the practice of minimalism starts with our most necessary objects and activities.

For some, it may be eating a bit less, a decluttered space, fewer shopping sprees, and a few more self-discovery sessions in solitude just to discover our true selves and purpose. It's an endless game, minimalism and self-discovery, and the experience is quite unique to every person. Not everyone will have the same methods, nor will they prioritize everything the same way, and our goals could be the complete opposite too.

My journey started with solitude of course. When I was ill for close to a year, I had no option but to be in quarantine. The first 6 months were extreme isolation. Long story short, during that time I realized quite a few things. I realized how important health is, and how I should be taking care of myself, not just for myself, but for those who love and care for me. I understood how crucial family is, and how unpredictable life can be. My focus shifted, to simpler things in life; the things that money can't buy. Because a house full of love and peace, trustworthy friends, and a workplace that you don't hate, are some of the things that money can't buy. I also stopped caring about the things I couldn't control.


PXL_20240707_160239241~4.jpg


Those changes relating to self-discovery and purpose were natural, they weren't forced, nor a result of experimentation. I'd say that's just who I am.

However, one of the things that I did change after joining the amateur stages of minimalism was related to style. I suddenly stopped caring about big brands and price tags. Instead, I leaned in toward good-quality stuff. Now, is it a matter of minimalism, or age, that I do not know.

The colors became a bit darker and lowkey, black, navy blue, dark brown, and burgundy. It's not like I used to wear a lot of bright colors, but some of them would still be in my wardrobe for rare occasions. Now, it's all solid colors and all about minimal effort; I don't like spending much time getting dressed and styling up. A lesser number of accessories is equipped too; mostly just a watch that fits and complements the outfit.

Certain collections of clothes stopped, I had a thing for collecting tracksuits from different football clubs, of different styles. It was a never-ending hobby. Yet, I'm happy that it didn't last too long. Around my mid-20s, I started giving away more and more older clothes. And as long as the clothes I had fit and weren't in a roughed-up condition, I never felt like going out shopping or getting something new. Only when there was a "need" to get a new attire, mostly due to size, only then I would decide to go "shopping", or as always, get 90% of it done online.

I believe style is important, but it doesn't have to be fancy or branded, and one shouldn't have to break the bank for it.

Because keeping it simple, while also putting it together in a manner that speaks volumes, is a skill.



1.png