COMMITMENTS & FULFILMENT

I grew up in an environment where your responsibility is spelt out to you every now and then so when you fail to carry your out your obligations, you'd be most times punished for it. But now that I've become an adult and I get to make most decisions for myself, things have gotten easier for me, at least that's what I chose to believe because now I don't have anyone to keep telling me what to do every single time.

Due to the fact that I knew that if I fail at my responsibility someone will always remind me of it, I started making deliberate efforts towards meeting up with my responsibilities without anyone interfering. At a young age I always tried my best to do everything that I need to do before the adults start reminding me to do them. I don't like making them complain about me not carrying out my obligations well.

It got to a point when I started meeting up with everything and even more than what was required of me and I knew how fulfilled and happy that made me. Outside the fact that I was satisfied, I also get to grow my knowledge every time I meet up with my responsibilities. I love it when I'm competent with anything but then that only happens when I know what is expected of me.

When I know my responsibilities as a person, it's easier for me to know when I'm not doing well and think of a way to resolve it but when I don't know what I need to do at a given point in time, I find out that I become very incompetent and that makes me feel my worst. But at a time like this, I just make sure to keep doing my best at the little things.

Blue Gradient Modern Freelancer YouTube Thumbnail _20231204_112900_0000.png

One of the things that I find really challenging is not knowing what I need to do. Because I do believe that as long as I know what I need to do, it gets easier from there. Even if I get lost at some point, I can easily snap out of it and get back into action. So whenever I make some commitments, the first thing I want to do is get all the facts straight so when I don't play my part well, I'd know even without anyone telling me.

But you know, I'm really scared of making commitments because I most times don't meet up with them especially when it's something that I didn't even plan for early. The best way I try to balance my commitments is through timing! Time is one of the most precious assets that is so invaluable but if one is not careful they might spend their time on unnecessary things.

Whenever I get some commitments that I didn't plan well for, I just try to prioritize things by allocating time to everything that I need to do. Right now I'm at a friend's place helping her babysit her child while she went for a medical appointment. Normally, I had planned to do some other things today before I got this call and it was almost impossible for me to decline because I had promised to help out whenever she needed my help and I'm not away.

Taking care of a child is not something you can plan with completely but sometimes one might be lucky. This morning I woke up really early because I know I have extra work on my plate and I need to meet up with everything! I had to start working on my phone and not too long after then baby was up, lol. I had to carry her and play with her and it took her close to 5 hours before she fell asleep and I was with her all through those hours!

Immediately she went to bed I had to continue my engagements on my phone and now I'm even making a post before she wakes up. So what I do is, depending on the obligation I have to carry out, I allocate more time to some than the others and that's how I manage to balance up my commitments but sadly sometimes it gets really overwhelming and I just have to sacrifice my nap in the noon to balance up things.

The truth is I do feel overwhelmed and sometimes burdened but it's not as before ever since I start learning how to manage my time well and also try to avoid procrastinating and postponing things. I'm still learning how to master these habits so there are glitches every now and then but I'm optimistic it can only get better and as they say, "Practice makes perfect!"

Until next time, stay AWESOME and JIGGY!!!

Thumbnail was designed using canva

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency