The Minimalist Lifestyle Is Inherited(#Kiss Blogging)

I was born a minimalist, not because I chose to, but I realized I was one by birth. I grew up to see my dad to be someone who took life differently from the way others do, he most often sought ways to minimize anything unless there were no other possible ways. His entire hanger has just three clothes and two trousers. Even though he has wealth, he doesn't own a car and would choose to trek rather than pay for a bike if the place he's going is trekable. He doesn't mind eating one particular food for a year if it'll help him cut down budget.

At first, It was easy calling him names like being "stingy" but the older I got, I realized I was becoming more like him. I could calculate a whole arithmetic on how to spend my money and so many luxurious things doesn't seem to appease me. I started loving the simple kind of life where I do not have to worry myself about anything. My wardrobe has just a few clothes and I own just two pairs of shoes. I feel very satisfied with the little things, it gives me room to worry less about so many things.

Photo Source

My Earliest memory
While I was in high school, it was required for us to buy handouts which sometimes cost a huge amount of money. I would prefer to either make a photocopy from a friend or snap the handout pages on my mobile phone to buy it with such an amount of money. It always cost me less. I had just one lab coat when others had three and above and I always try to find a simple way around understanding any concept or solving difficult mathematics.

If I had a thousand naira left in my purse for feeding, I'll have to write down several ways to make it last me two weeks. It was a small amount of money but then I always had options of cheaper food to buy that could last me that long while I rescheduled the number of times I eat in a day.

People at some point said I was stingy and careful with my money. I couldn't help it, I just loved to be simple and probably smart enough to use little resources effectively. I would rather trek than take a cab to anywhere I was going and my friends nicknamed me "a trekker".

It Came down to Who My Dad Is
Gradually I started to realize I was a replica of him. I like to minimize anything just as he would, I go for the options that cost less yet produce the same result, and would rather have a thorough calculation for any amount of money than spend it before thinking. I may not have loved this lifestyle if I was left to choose but sometimes being a minimalist is inherited and we just have to blend with it and make use of its advantages to grow into who we should become.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency