This content was deleted by the author. You can see it from Blockchain History logs.

New album, returns to roots and problematic collaborations // Puff Dorito 🌌's interwiev

Greetings,

Today I invite you to the biggest and hardest to complete project I have had on this platform so far. The main problems stemmed from logistical issues, as... we are not alone here today. With us today is Puff Dorito 🌌 who I wanted to talk to today ahead of the release of his latest album, LOVE LETTERS 2, whose release is getting closer and closer. The rest of the text is a form of direct conversation with the author, so I invite you to read, enjoy.

So... what is your experience as a music producer?

I have more than 3 years of experience, I started production in fl studio and with this program I have already stayed despite a few leaps towards ableton. I learned how to use the program on my own through trial and error. I got to the next level when I started watching YouTube videos on fl. These included Simon Servida, Cxdy and Aiden Kenwey, among others, and that's when I downloaded my first drum kit and started creating my first Beats. After a year of making beats at an already more advanced level, I managed to work with 6 artists.

Wow, that's a lot of cooperation for such seniority, so what is your main focus as a producer?

Like any producer I always try to come up with some catchy melody. More important to me, however, is the drumming. Each time I try to make it hit as hard as possible, and I do not limit myself to the classic arrangement, I like to experiment with hi-hats or create some complicated 808 line.

Does this in any way limit what music genres you specialize in? Do they overlap with what you listen to in your free time?

In my music I do not limit myself to one genre. In my discography I have lo-fi, jazz, grunge or even metal tracks. As far as beats are concerned, the matter is similar. I can create classic trap beats as well as rage or trap metal, etc. This coincides with my divergent musical taste ranging from heavy metal to rap to jazz.

What software do you use for production? Is there a specific reason that convinced you to use it?

As I mentioned earlier, I work in fl studio software. Like many others, it encouraged me with its pleasant appearance and easy entry threshold for beginners.

Okay, then how is your work process in production? Everything is done in one go, or when finishing something are there significant time gaps relative to the start of the work?

I try to finish the creation process on the same day I started it. Sometimes it takes 2 hours and sometimes even 8, it all depends on the flow I have on a particular day. As for the course of creation, on the other hand, it depends. Sometimes I have a melody in my head or I come up with something on the guitar. Then the process starts with recording the melody, then I add other melodic lines, bass and, of course, drums. It also happens that the process just starts with drums, because as I mentioned it is important to me.

Obviously, however, it does not take place at your place without problems, right? What is the main problem and slows you down the most, or even makes you give up on projects?

Yeah... currently, the biggest problem is the laptop on which I work (laugh). I have microphones, interfaces, MIDI controllers, but all this is useless if you do not have a working computer. In my case it's not so bad yet, but if I had to give some advice here, it is worth getting a working computer before buying other equipment, so that the pace of our work is not disturbed.

Of course, surely (laugh). By the way, is there any project that is currently your goal?

Currently there is no such project. I recently finished the production of the album "LOVE LETTER 2", which will be released on June 6, and other than that I am not working on another project.

And now we're talking (laugh). Could you tell us more about this project?

LOVE LETTER 2 is an 8-track album containing a mix of different genres. The first track is a typical trap track with guitars. The 2nd and 7th tracks are something like jazz (similar to the last track on the "Feelings" EP. The 3rd track is a throwback to the "From Morning To Stars" album. 4 is a quiet lullaby. 5 and 6 are 80s Pop styled tracks, inspired by the album "Alone At Prom" from Tory Lanez. Finally, the eighth track is a tribute to my old ep "TRIP".

image.png

Thanks, that's quite a lot of information. And now I have a challenge for you. Would you be able to list all the albums from your first year of music?

Uh... okay, then...
Solar System - beginnings, poor execution of an interesting concept
JAPAN EP - similar to Solar system
Vaporwave EP - the best project from the beginning of the discography
MIXTAPE Vol. 1 - the worst project I did, let's not go back to it 💀
HALLOWEEN LP - interesting concept, not bad execution and slowly emerging DISORDER era
B-sides - a bridge between the old electronic era and the new more lo-fi/indie era

Wow, not bad. You've already said that you've collaborated with others over the past three years. What did the collaboration consist of and what difficulties could you list that followed?

I happened to work with other artists and here things are different. Every person is different so there are some people with whom work goes pleasantly and we get along well. However, life would be too beautiful if every job went so well (laugh). Sometimes it is impossible to get along well with some people and the work goes clumsy. For me it is important to have a relaxed atmosphere, then both I and the artist work better.

Makes sense. And is there any artist with whom you dream of a joint project?

(after a moment of thought) ...too many to list, I am fascinated by most of the American rap scene and it's hard for me to choose a particular artist. I still have a long way to go, but I have faith that someday I will break through and succeed in breaking into the American music market.

image.png

...

Thank you if you made it to the end. I invite you to look forward to LOVE LETTERS 2. I'm glad that we were able to make a name for ourselves with this form of interview even before the release of the album. I encourage you to keep an eye on the release date on the sources below, meanwhile I bid you farewell, until next time.

// Winvanity

Puff Dorito 🌌's Spotify profile:
https://open.spotify.com/artist/5SEAKhSZbQsX7iJMP7NcAz?si=O8BGCoFcSeqHOyunY9uJNA
Puff Dorito 🌌's Youtube profile:
https://www.youtube.com/channel/UCzNMpaLUG2vR32FmgP_JapA