I built a guitar!


goodface.jpg


Good day, Hive.
I can finally share the project that I have been working on for some time.
The FerguSeavey Telebastard.
One fine day, I was able to play my roommate's Jim Root Telecaster. I had never really played an electric guitar before. I know this is crazy, since I have been playing the guitar for 20 years. I had always been a rhythm strumming acoustic guitar player to accompany myself as I sing. Playing the mandolin broke me out of the cage of chord strumming, and it really prepared me for the electric guitar.
On this particular day, my roommate plugged a guitar into an amp and handed it to me. Because of the mandolin, I instinctively started playing some jigs and reels. The sound coming from the amp changed something inside of me. I played a Les Paul and Burns guitar before he handed me the Telecaster. I kind of became possessed by that guitar.
I played for hours on end, unable to put it down. A whole new world opened up to me. I knew I needed an electric guitar. My roommate happened to have a Telecaster-style guitar body and he suggested that we build one.


both.jpg


Here is the body with the inspiration... the Jim Root Telecaster.


I have never even thought about building an electric guitar before, but as it turns out, it is really fun!
My recent woodworking skills came in handy, and I was happy to return to my table in the garage to do some sanding and carving. We needed extra room inside the guitar to fit the 9 volt battery that is necessary with EMG pickups. I was not afraid to use my carving knives to accomplish that.


IMG_20230104_150716041.jpg


We initially tried to paint it white, but the paint didn't come out, so I sanded it down and painted it again.


IMG_20230107_105739716.jpg


Then it was time to add a box full of parts!


IMG_20230107_105746873.jpg


I insisted on locking tuners, like the Jim Root Telecaster, which I have named Excalibur. Then I learned about self trimming, locking tuners and almost fainted. I got some for my guitar, and they are the coolest things on Earth.


tuners.jpg


There have been some issues, as the neck was warped from hanging on a peg in a guitar shop for years with nothing attached to it. There is some buzz in some of the frets, but string tension is slowly bending it back into shape.
I am making electric versions of some of my songs, and learning how to make the sounds that I have always heard in my head.
Here is the living room debut of the FerguSeavey Telebastard.



May this be the beginning of 1000 new songs!
Peace and long life, Hive.


H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
34 Comments
Ecency