Going round the roundabout: a song I wrote recently

https://soundcloud.com/samstonehill/going-round-the-roundabout

As truth-seekers we expose ourselves to the horrors of the world and this can feel like a heavy burden sometimes. Such darkness can of course be countered by habits like meditation, barefoot walking, sun-gazing & weed smoking, but even with these things I feel the need to acknowledge and release intense energies in a creative and enjoyable way. For me this usually happens in the form of a song and has been my process ever since my father died 20 years ago.

The music always comes to me first when I am alone with my guitar, usually in a matter of minutes. It comes to me in pieces and it is my job to put them together in the right order.

Then come the words, which take a few days to figure out. And then if I feel it, I will record the song on an old iphone which still just about works. I don't have any kind of professional recording equipment any more.

As a perfectionist perhaps this is why most of my songs remain unrecorded?

On this occasion however I was willing to let go of my desire for perfection and just record it.

Going round the roundabout

In many ways the song is a reaction to the complacency I feel in some of my older friends. They believe they understand what is happening in the world today and that their big houses & bank accounts will keep them safe, while I would personally beg to differ.

The roundabout I refer to is the cyclical nature of human development
because yeah, it ain't linear like we've been told. And this is not the first time we have experienced a 'great reset'. There is also a fictional scenario in there about two people who finish their relationship because they don't have the same views on vaccines.

So, I think that's it for now. Enjoy the song!

Love & Light everyone 🌱

IMG-5848.JPG

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
28 Comments
Ecency