Presenting my top 6 favorite Norwegian punk bands

Today I want to give some attention to the Norwegian punk scene. Norway is a small country with a lot of hidden gems. In my opinion some of these bands aren't as big as they deserve to be. Therefore I want to do my due diligence and spread the word on them.

I'll be delivering some facts, my own thoughts and a lot of Spotify links for you to check out. I hope some of you punk-lovers can discover some new music here today.

I'll be listing them in no particular order.

Source: Ark


The Good the Bad and the Zugly

Stemming from Hadeland in the south-east of Norway the Good the Bad and the Zugly has been growing in popularity in recent years. They started out in 2011 and was early on compared to the mighty Turbonegro.

GBZ delivers their lyrics both in English and Norwegian. The bands vocalist Ivar Nikolaisen is now also the lead vocalist in Kvelertak which speaks volumes of his skills. By far my favorite side to GBZ are the vocals.

GBZ has released five studio albums winning the Norwegian "Spellemannsprisen" (Norwegian Grammy) in the rock genre for their third album Misanthropical House.

Spotify link: The Good the Bad and the Zugly
Favorite song: Vik Bak Meg Satan
Favorite album: Misanthropical House
Songs to check out: Sickness Unto Death, Staying with the Trouble, Sitter Fast I Hælvete


Source: VG


The Dogs

My personal favorite on this list. If these guys lead a cult I would have joined it. These guys live and breathe for their music. Their music is great and their live shows are, in my opinion, the best around. High energy and highly interactive with the crowd.

The Dogs are almost ritualistic with their album releases. They release a new studio album on the first Monday of every year. They spend the rest of the winter and spring touring clubs and playing headline shows. The summer is spent at festivals and when fall comes they're back to the writing board. This means that since their inception in 2012 they've released 9 studio albums and 1 b-sides/rarity album.

The frontman Kristopher Schau is a force to be reckoned with. In Norway he's not only a musician but also a TV, radio and podcast personality. While not everyone might have heard of the Dogs most everyone has heard of Kristopher Schau. He's also the lead vocalist of now dissolved The Cumshots. If you find yourself on the front row of one of their shows you can expect both a hug and a kiss from this beautiful man.

I was supposed to go see them live the weekend after our first Covid lockdown. The show has been rescheduled thrice and is currently looking at being played in September. Fingers crossed. I have my costume ready.

I do of course have to share a picture of him singing while sitting in my lap. You can see the stars in my eyes.

13782110_10210084163599294_6690611839354229595_n.jpg

Check these guys out.

Spotify link: The Dogs
Favorite song: Who's Not Doing Great
Favorite album: Crossmaker
Songs to check out: G.U.I.L.T.Y., Love Says Nothing, Who's Gonna Pay, Oslo, Are You with Him Now, I Don't Wanna

Source: Norway Rock Magazine


Dangerface

Dangerface, with their hardcore-punk, is probably the hardest addition on this list. These guys started out in 2016 and had only released singles up until 2019 when they released their first, and I hope not last, studio album.

I was oblivious about this band and discovered them through an interview with Kristopher Schau who I mentioned in my section on the Dogs. He praised them as one of the upcoming Norwegian punk bands with the highest potential.

I'm looking forward to seeing these guys live one day. When Covid is over I need to take a full year off to catch up on all my live shows.

Spotify link: Dangerface
Favorite album: Get Loud!
Favorite song: Let It Burn

Source: Wikipedia


Honningbarna

Before discovering the Dogs, Honningbarna would have been my favorite on this list. These guys are just lovely. They won their Spellemannspris (Norwegian grammy) already with their debut album La Alarmane Gå as well as being nominated for "newcomer of the year".

This is another band with high intensity and highly interactive live shows. Moshpits and wall of deaths are encouraged and almost mandatory. You can expect the band to join in with the crowd themselves. I've never been as muddy after a show as I was seeing Honningbarna at Malakoff 2015.

Sadly things aren't looking good for Honningbarna. They had a rough patch after the drummer died in a car crash in 2012. They kept going strong until 2015 when some band members quit and were replaced. They formally announced they were taking a break in 2018 although they went on a tour in 2019. Since then several members has quit the band. We'll have to see.

With five studio albums they leave behind a legacy. No matter, their music is a force to be reckoned with and should be checked out. Just as a note, both the name Honningbarna (Honey-children] and their songs and lyrics are all in Norwegian.

Spotify link: Honningbarna
Favorite album: La Alarmane Gå
Favorite song: Fri Palestina
Songs to check out: Noen Å Hate, La Alarmane Gå, Prinser av Sarajevo, Hold an ann

Source: ACT Entertainment


Bokassa

Bokassa has the potential to become something grand. They've caught the attention of some driving forces with their stoner-punk. In 2019 they toured Europa with Metallica as an opening act. They've been praised by the members of Metallica and were personally invited along on the tour.

Their first single was released in 2015 and since then they've produced two studio albums. They also have this thing going on where they're sort of creating their own little super hero universe with their music videos.

These guys are so small and fresh that there's not really that much more to say at this point. I was supposed to see them in April but that was also cancelled thanks to Covid. Check them out!

Spotify link: Bokassa
Favorite song: Vultures
Favorite album: Crimson Riders
Songs to check out: Captain Cold One, Immortal Space Pirate (The Stoner Anthem), Walker Texas Danger

Source: Musikknyheter


Blomst

I can't really say much about these guys apart from them being a punk band that's absolutely awesome. Also the only band on this list featuring a female member and lead singer. And believe me, her voice is phenomenal.

I discovered Blomst at Malakoff 2019. At the Dogs show Kristopher Schau, the vocalist from the Dogs, talked them up. He even called her on her phone and put her on speaker to tell her to come on stage and they played the song The End Has Begun together. He promptly told everyone in the crowd to go see Blomst at their set later that day. He promised to kill everyone who didn't go so I had to oblige.

I did not regret it. Their show was energetic and beautiful. I hope I get to see them again.

Another band with all Norwegian name, songs and lyrics. Blomst is the Norwegian word for flower.

Spotify link: Blomst
Favorite song: Ro Deg Ned
Favorite album: Blomst IL

Source: Rondaståk


Looking forward to hearing your thoughts on these bands in the comments. Tell me what you think! If you have some local punk bands from your country please share them with me. Discovering new music is the best thing in the world.

Let the music hit you on the way out!


Follow me on Twitter!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency