Presenting Kryptograf | New stoner/prog rock band from my town

One thing I don't do much anymore is browse traditional social media. I browse Reddit for some football and DnD related stuff but that's pretty much it. I check in on Instagram every now and then to see if my friends has sent me some memes. I have Facebook mostly just to use Messenger but I very rarely open Facebook itself to check the feed.

I decided to do just that a couple of days ago though. I scrolled through the feed for a bit to see if there was anything noteworthy. There wasn't, except for the very last post I stopped at which caught my interest. It was an update from an acquaintance who runs his own music studio and he had had a band in for a live session. What I heard pretty much blew me away from the get go.

The band was called Kryptograf and I had never heard of them before. I ended up listening to the whole live session which you can find here and I'll also embed it down below. I just loved the raw old school sound they had. Both with the instruments and the vocals. Their riffs were tasty and reminded me a lot of some good old school Black Sabbath.


I had to check these guys out and I soon found out they're a local band from my town. I also discovered their debut album Kryptograf which I've been listening to all week. One thing that I quickly noticed was that the live session was actually a performance of their whole album. It's a really well put together album that's really worth listening to as a whole. It's hard to pick out any favorite songs because they all work so well together.

If I had to pick I would probably choose Omen. It's just such a slow, heavy and progressive tune with some great stoner elements. There's a lot of stoner elements throughout their whole album which I love. I've been getting some Orange Goblin vibes from some of their riffs. The breakdown about halfway through the song is a real headbanger as well.

I also really digged the vocals and thought their sound was really cool. The vocals sounded different from song to song which surprised me. That's because three out of the four members are on vocals. That's something I really like. That's one of the things that caught my attention with Mastodon back in the day.


Opening new doors

I really needed to discover some new music right about now. I've been stuck in the old tunes for far to long without any new discoveries. Jumping between my teenage favorites like Yellowcard, Weezer and Biffy Clyro.

I'm probably be listening to these guys for a while more before delving deeper into the stoner genre. It's a genre I've barely begun scratching the surface of but it's a genre I really like. If there's anyone here who has any stoner recommendations then please throw them my way.

To mention some stoner bands I've been listening to in the past:

I would love some recommendations.


I hope you all decide to check out Kryptograf. I'm really digging them and they deserve some recognition. Definitely check them out if you like old school rock with some sweet stoner elements.

Spotify: Kryptograf

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency