Kvelertak + Audrey Horne | My First Live Show Since The Pandemic

Just about two months ago, out of nowhere and to my big surprise, a Kvelertak concert was announced in my city. As a great bonus a local band called Audrey Horne would accompany them. With Kvelertak being one of my favorite Norwegian bands I just had to get tickets for this one. Luckily I did because once they released the tickets they were gone pretty fast. I managed to snag four tickets for me and my best friend as well as our girlfriends. Jackpot!

This would be a rather special show. For starters it would be Kvelertaks first show for a live audience since the pandemic started. They've done a couple of shows where they've streamed it live to Facebook or other streaming services which is pretty cool. You can see one of those shows HERE (if it can be accessed outside of Norway.)

For me this would be the first concert since the pandemic started as well. What's extra special about this one is that I was going to see Kvelertak live just two weeks after the country closed down. That totally sucked but at the same time it made this concert extra special.


Bergen Live


A different concert

Now this wouldn't be any normal concert. There wouldn't be a large standing crowd with moshpits happening. Covid is still in swing although at a reduced rate. The current regulations say that you can gather a crowd of 200 people at an outdoors venue so long as everyone has a designated seat at least 1 meter away from the next guy. 600 tickets were released and split over three zones holding 200 people each.

Sitting would be weird but nothing would stop me from going to this show.


The Big Day

Having anticipated this day for months, or even since the pandemic started, I was so excited when it finally came this past Thursday. Pre-pandemic I would probably be going to concerts once every month.

I donned my Limited Edition Kvelertak Vest that I always wear to Kvelertaks shows. Pre-concert we ate an awesome burger at Inside Rock Cafe while drinking some beers.

I was really curious as to see how the concert area would look like with all the chairs. When we got there we were given our own designated seats with strict notice to not get to close to the next person. You were allowed to get up from your chair to go to the toilet and to mingle on the lawn as long as you kept your distance.

Beers were ordered from your phone by scanning a QR-code and they would serve it to you in your chair. This was just pure awesomeness. Not having to leave your spot in a concert to get your beers is such a luxury. I'm not really sure if I want to have the big crowds back at this point after experiencing this. I barely had to look at my phone for a few seconds during the concert and my beer would arrive barely two minutes later. So much better than having to leave your spot and risk missing a few songs.

We could even order merch from the app. I ordered a t-shirt that looked really cool as well as a signed copy of their latest album, on vinyl of course. It was the only Kvelertak album missing from my collection.

The artwork is so awesome for this album. (Both images by me.)

Enter Audrey Horne

I was really comfortable in my chair with my beer in hand but I was a little nervous as to if I would be able to sit in my chair once the concert started. When Audrey Horne took to the stage that proved instantly difficult. I instinctively jumped up when they strummed their first tunes and so did a lot of other people. Sitting just doesn't work for a rock concert.

Their set was awesome and I loved every second of it. Seeing those guys shred their guitars and blast out some sweet solos and just rocking out like there was no tomorrow was so awesome. It was much needed. They really managed to get the crows going and I was screaming my lungs out to some of their songs.

They have some great songs that I'm gonna be embedding at the end of the post.


Both images from: Norway Rock Magazine

Enter Kvelertak

After a 30 minute break it was time for the almighty Kvelertak. When I heard the intro to Rogaland starting I felt shivers going down my spine and a rush of pure happiness and hype ran through me. This song has such a great buildup going on for two minutes and when the song finally kicked off I didn't stand a chance. I was more on my feet rocking out than I was sitting in my seat for the entire show. You just can't sit with these tunes blasting. I was of course keeping to my space.

They played a lot of songs from their new album Splid which released just before Covid hit. I've been curious to see how they perform the songs live and I can say with certainty that these songs really fit the live format. It's also the first album with Ivar Nikolaisen on vocals so it was really cool to see him perform songs that he helped write as well and not just the old ones. They did of course blast a lot of the old bangers. They didn't hold anything back.

We rocked out a little bit to hard at a point by lifting out chairs over our head and stuff and were told to chill by the security crew. Luckily they didn't boot us out of there just halfway through the concert. Luckily the people around us just cheered us on and praised us for not letting the format of the show take away our fun. The people around us were quite passive so I guess we stood out a bit.

They even filmed me and my friend rocking out and put it in the aftermovie for the show. You can see us jumping up from our chairs about 5 seconds into this video: HERE. Sadly they published it only on Instagram.


Both images from: Norway Rock Magazine


Even today, three days later, my neck is still hurting from headbanging and my throat is sore from screaming. This was such a special show that I'm gonna remember for the rest of my life. For all I know it might have been a once in a life time experience. Luckily my head isn't pounding anymore from all the beers I drank...


Check out the bands:

Splid by Kvelertak:
Youngblood by Audrey Horne:
H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency