Sad Sunday With Cesar Franck

Sunday1.jpeg

It's all Thor's fault. He's been playing with us for the last few days, sending rain and sending the sun, alternately. What was his will actually? Not so happy with this climate conditions, I had to ask influential people living a little further north in Europe to talk to him and decide what he wanted with the Spanish weather.

It seems that the god from Germanic mythology finally obeyed and sent the beautiful weather to my place this Sunday morning. Many people in my small village rejoiced at this, everyone would be grateful to know the reason why the sun shone so brightly all morning. However, some clouds tried to escape control.

Sunday3.jpeg

Those clouds brought a little rain again, in the afternoon. So instead of a Sunday afternoon spent walking, I was forced to stay home ... And what could be better than practising the piano?

I found a beautiful composition that I played during my studies. I'm only bringing you the first part of a multi-part composition here, Prelude, Fugue et Variation Op. 18. So I play here the Prelude part. The main melody is so suitable for a #SadSunday post, I could not resist playing it and recording it.
Also, the character of the composition is changeable, just like the weather today.


Prelude, Fugue and Variation was written for organ, but then it is transcribed for piano too. Cesar Franck dedicated it to his friend Camille Saint-Saëns. I am always so pleased to listen to the composition, and also to play it. Also, I am happy I didn't forget it, as it was refreshed in my repertory a few years ago for one concert (Oh, ok, I just realized it was exactly one decade ago...) Anyway, here it comes. The audio part was recorded this afternoon after a bit of practising. The video recording is from the beach this morning, while it was still sunny. But, better close your eyes, and just listen to it.

Sunday2.jpeg

So let me know, did you like more the sunny weather photos or the Prelude? I know the sun is nice but hey, Cesar Franck composed here a masterpiece, so I hope you will like it in my humble interpretation.


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency