The Piano Soundtrack by Michael Nyman


ae5c6dde-691b-481a-968b-5de0df0bde86.jpeg

It seems that every second Sunday is the day for the #SadSunday post !! Two weeks ago I wrote about soundtracks, and I mentioned Hans Zimmer and the movies Inception and Interstellar. I also mentioned the film The English Patient and from that movie, I stressed out the singing of Sebestyén Márta. She is a Hungarian singer and has a unique style.

The Pianist also found its place in my post, where music composed by Frederic Chopin had the main role. Finally, Eric Serra's music was mentioned, the soundtrack from the movie Leon. I enjoyed writing that post and later engaging with other great users who came to give me some feedback and shared their opinion. Nice people, indeed.

A few days after the post was published, @edje joined the post with his interesting comment, and at the end, he asked me what did I think about music from the movie The Piano, composed by Michael Nyman. Wow, just beautiful music written for that movie. Fortunately, I have the music sheets for that soundtrack, but I have never performed it as it seemed a bit difficult to play. The most famous track is the theme called The Heart Asks Pleasure First, and this piece is what I have been practising for this occasion. Nothing impossible, of course, but some hours of studying were needed if I wanted to play it.

So, I managed it, after two weeks of working on it. The left-hand pattern was the most challenging, as actually, it was somehow always different, and I could not figure it out so quickly. Neither happened it now perfectly, but I can play it, at least :)

There are some six pages of playing this kind of broken chords, without a major break:

1fd7fea0-6b38-47fa-8bc0-823f6b99dac7.jpeg

However, here it comes, but the video will not show just my hands playing it. This will be a video made on the seashore, the make some resemblance to the real movie. In the film, the main person, the pianist lady arrives at an island with her daughter and her piano. I will not provide any more details, as I already said, it was a beautiful film production, but I felt so sad because of some particular scenes, that I promised not watching it again. Although, my decision is getting a bit weaker, so maybe, just maybe one day I will watch it again. However, because of that sadness, it is just perfect music for this Sad Sunday edition.

I had a bit of help from @ph1102 who made the videos of me on that small rocky beach. The waves these days were strong, so the sea is not clear and blue. The scenery of shooting this morning:

76f10b74-eeb2-41ab-bbd1-7582c53e0e4e.jpeg

It was really fun to work on it. On learning the piece and recording it first, and then going to the beach to make the videos. I laughed most of the time, so I would be a bad actress. No wonders, why you almost don't see my face, I could not stop smiling and laughing. But let us pretend I am sad and serious there.

Let me know what do you think about this piece and the movie The Piano if you watched it. Any feedback about this small video is very welcome too. I hope you will enjoy listening to it. Have a nice Sunday evening everyone!!


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
27 Comments
Ecency