War Pigs (Black Sabbath)

As an artist, the most fulfilling thing for me is writing my own music and seeing a song come to live.
However, from time to time I also like doing an interpretation of a famous song that I love. My approach here is not only doing a simple cover of the song but trying to do it in my own style.
So I took the famous Black Sabbath classic War Pigs and transformed it into a laid-back acoustic tune. Recording and mixing was pretty straight forward - just voice and an acoustic guitar. For the mastering I tried out the Abbey Road Vinyl plugin to give the song an extra vintage touch. Thankfully my wife agreed to help me shoot a video clip for the song - a bit challenging when you have two kids. You can read her report here.
Sabbath fun fact: Originally, the song was entitled Walpurgis, but as the record company found it too satanic, Black Sabbath changed the title to War Pigs. The lyrics however remained the same.

War Pigs

Generals gathered in their masses
Just like witches at black masses
Evil minds that plot destruction
Sorcerer of death's construction
In the fields, the bodies burning
As the war machine keeps turning
Death and hatred to mankind
Poisoning their brainwashed minds
Oh lord, yeah!

Politicians hide themselves away
They only started the war
Why should they go out to fight?
They leave that role to the poor, yeah
Time will tell on their power minds
Making war just for fun
Treating people just like pawns in chess
Wait till their judgement day comes, yeah!

Now in darkness, world stops turning
Ashes where their bodies burning
No more war pigs have the power
Hand of God has struck the hour
Day of judgement, God is calling
On their knees, the war pigs crawling
Begging mercy for their sins
Satan laughing, spreads his wings
Oh lord, yeah!

image.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency