Sharing Some Tunes For TTT

It's that time of the week again; when many of us here on Hive decide to get on and share some tunes with the rest of the community.



Source


The Weirdos - Solitary Confinement

This song is kickass and I've liked it since the first time I heard it years ago. It's one of the only songs of this band I like. There are a couple more tunes of theirs out there, but they don't seem to have this same feeling to them.

Lords of Dogtown is a film I came across when I was in my early teens, and this song, among a few others, was used for the film soundtrack. It was actually in this film that I heard Black Flag for the first time, and I got it into them due to it.

It's a really good film to be fair, and well worth checking out if you're in any way shape, or form interested in skateboarding, as it centres around 4 friends, at the start of the skateboarding craze, and each of them goes in different directions and it's based off a true story and real people.


Butthole Surfers - Goofy's concern

I don't actually know where I first heard Butthole Surfers, but I came across this album - Independent Worm Saloon - years ago and have always really liked it.

The opening to the album is great, but this song here - Goofy's Concern - as always stuck with me over the years and it's one of the tunes from this album that I go back to occasionally.


Bad Brains - Right Brigade

This song is kickass and was the first thing from Bad Brains I ever heard, but from here I really got into them and listened to everything they produced.

It's another good example of how other media has had a bit of an influence on my taste in music and introduced me to bands who I may not have heard, or may have only heard years later.

This song was used in the soundtrack of GTA IV, which was released in 2008, and there was actually a bunch of punk/ hardcore bands I got into from the LCHC station on the radio.

Years after getting into Bad Brains I heard a rumor of some film/ documentary being made about them, but it never materialized and then after about 5 or 6 years since it had been announced it was finally released (kind of out of nowhere) and the documentary - which is about an hour and a half long, really goes into a lot of detail about the band and its members and it's well worth checking out.

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
8 Comments
Ecency