TTT - The Lion King

It’s been a while since I joined Three Tunes Tuesday and I didn’t have it in mind to join today but there I was, holed up in my room, doing all that phone stuff, when my little sisters barged into the room complaining about what I just said- being holed up in my room. Said quite a lot of things about me being the introverted sister that feels too cool to hang out with the rest of the family.

Very accusatory words, I must say and I proceeded to assure them that it wasn’t like that at all but of course, the little “angels” knew I’d say that, and so started in their emotional blackmail to prove that I wasn’t, in fact, a negligent, hard-hearted sister and all of that. Long story short, three minutes later, I found myself in the living room, watching The Lion King, both parts one and two, with them.

I won’t lie, I enjoyed it. I enjoyed it a whole lot. Even shed a tear or two(which shouldn’t surprise anyone since most people know that my tear glands are usually in permanent overdrive). And so, as a last-minute decision, I decided to use three of the wonderful tracks that were used there. I liked everyone, if I’m being honest, even the one the villains sang but for this, three will suffice.

But before that, I’ll quote the originator of this wonderful initiative @ablaze. So if you want to know more about #ttt, there you go:

Every Tuesday I’m going to share 3 songs which I like to listen to and I invite your feedback in the comments below. Better still, why not have a blast of your own Three Tune Tuesday and mention me in the post and I’ll come and find the post and upvote it. If you could also use #threetunetuesday tag that would be great, as that is what I use when sifting through all the entries every Wednesday. It’ll be a sweet way for us all to discover new music. You’ll also be in with a chance of winning the prize – more on that later.

You can also check out his recent post and support him as well.



Image designed using Canva


Moving on, the first track of today as some have guessed is :

We Are One


This song by Angèlique Kidjo and fine-tuned to meet the theme of the movie is beautiful for a lot of reasons. The emotions were raw and palpable and laced with so much love. Acceptance of who you are and the knowledge of the warmth and support of whoever it is that you call your family.
I looked at my sisters as they sat, lost in the sweetness of the music, and smiled. “My family” is all I muttered.

Can’t You Feel The Love Tonight

Simba and Nala, love between childhood best friends that transcended into something more sweet and poignant and not so childish anymore. I loved that part a lot because you know, who wouldn’t and also because it reminds me of a lot. A lot that made me smile so hard, my sisters paused the movie and said that I should relax whatever was in my mind because it wasn’t that deep. The little scoundrels.

Love Will Find A Way


This soulful song by Kenny Lattimore was the clincher. I had to remove my glasses cause I practically soaked it up with my tears. It says a lot, that song. And it brought to my mind many things. The kind of love that is so rare to find these days. The love that isn’t talked about enough. Love that will always find a way. I can feel my eyes brimming again so I’ll just let you listen and shut up.

I really hope you enjoyed these songs or at least resonated with them in any way. Please, let me know your thoughts in the comments.❤️

Disclaimer: The linked videos are not owned by me but gotten from the copyrighted owners of these links on YouTube.




H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
49 Comments
Ecency