HIVE MUSIC FESTIVAL Week 3 Third Round (ENG-ESP): "Fairy and the 'Fly" (original)


(Traducción al español al final del post)

Hello everybody on HIVE, and especially the Music Community. My name is Jasper and I'm writing (and singing) to you from Cape Town, South Africa!

Welcome to Week 3 / Round 3 of the Hive Music Festival! A massive thank you to @edwardstobia for initiating this – again, I really enjoyed a lot of the posts from Round 2 that I was able to watch last week!

With all of the wonderful feedback, I am going to continue to use this opportunity to share my own original songs! I love playing covers, but I have HIVE Open Mic, Three Tunes Tuesday, and my own initiative where I take cover requests on Thursdays to do that, so please follow me to see if you’d like to see me tackle songs by other artists?

I have had an on-and-off relationship with music. I was thought to have some potential as a young child but was far too shy in High School to play in public, and so I focused on academics and athletics instead. Then I studied chemical/process engineering in university and started playing guitar again to relax, and then found myself writing songs…

I then started playing open mics and music clubs but was still too shy to take it further than that and do proper marketing or social media. I remember getting frustrated with the music scene in Cape Town. The venues were either empty, or if the audience was there, they weren’t actually there to listen to music and were chatting loudly instead, or the venue had terrible sound, etc, etc… It wasn’t easy for a shy, insecure young man who took himself a bit too seriously.

Sadly, I gave up performing in public for about ten years to focus on work, and only played to my friends and family around a braai (barbeque) occasionally… my skill level stayed stagnant rather than improving.

Then the Covid Pandemic happened, and I had more time to play music again. I started sending my mother a recording of me playing a new song for the first 100 days of lockdown!

I found out my old school friend @clairemobey was trying to get back into her song-writing and we started to collaborate. As the lockdowns eased, we started to do our first gigs together, including the first times I have ever been paid to play original music (I had a few paying cover gigs in the past).

I found I wasn’t taking myself so seriously, and I was actually just enjoying playing music again without worrying about the outcome too much, as long as I was improving in my own opinion! It helps that we can only find the time to play in public about once a month, and can therefore concentrate on the nicest small venues in Cape Town with good sound and appreciative audiences as well. My friends and family seem far more supportive now that I am visibly enjoying playing for them as well! Haha!

Then about 6 months ago, Claire’s partner @zakludick started inviting me and several other South Africans onto HIVE. I discovered Hive Open Mic and the Music Communities, and now have lots of ways to be forced into learning songs and to constantly improve as a result!

So, my third original song that I have chosen for Week 3 Round 3 of the Hive Music Festival is called “Fairy and the Fly”. It is very special to me as it’s probably the first decent song I wrote, back as a university student who should have been studying for an advanced mathematics exam at the time. It is definitely the oldest original song I still play to this day.

“Fairy and the ‘Fly” is a fairy-tale that I wrote in a single afternoon and then put to music and finished it all up in one single flash of inspiration. Looking at the song now, I can see it as a window into my soul. I have done work on my mental and emotional health, and I know that when I am feeling insecure, I tend to validate myself by playing the white knight or rescuer, often neglecting my needs while focusing on attempts to “save” other people or make them happy. This never really works. This song takes that theme to the extreme!

By the way, I am doing a weekly post on Thursdays where I ask for cover song requests in the comments, and then if I attempt your song in the following week's post, you become a beneficary to 50% of the post's rewards in HP. If that sounds interesting, please think of a song you would like me to try and look out for my post on Thursday?

Lyrics for “Fairy and the Fly” by @jasperdick (original)

Let me tell you a story, I wonder if you know
About a fairy family, who lived a long time ago
Father was a rich man, mother was covered in gold
Daughter, she was so gorgeous, her eyes cut deep down in your soul...
A band of trolls came into the forest, on a night that was bitterly cold
They'd heard of the fairy family, they'd heard of all of the gold
That night they sprang into action, that night there was blood to be spilled
Though father, he begged them for mercy, both he and fairy mother were killed...
And as for fairy daughter, the trolls did terrible things
They abandoned her in a swamp, after tearing off both of her wings
With a bleeding back she fainted, she was certain that she would soon die
But she woke up to find herself in the house of a kind dragonfly
Dragonfly said "I'll give you food, and I'll worship you all of my life"
"Fairy daughter you are so pretty, won't you please be my wife?"
"But you're an ugly beast!" said the daughter, "and I don't care for all of your things"
"Never again will I truly be happy, until I have a new pair of wings!"
The next morning she found the 'fly, had hung himself with spider's thread
And through the tears in her eyes fairy daughter saw that her saviour was really dead
He'd left a note explaining how because they'd never exchange any rings
He'd killed himself, now with a knife and a spell, she could help herself to his wings
Well you're my fairy daughter
And I'm your dragonfly
Because you would not love me
I hang my head and I... I cry...

Hola a todos en HIVE, y especialmente a la Comunidad Musical. Me llamo Jasper y os escribo (y canto) desde Ciudad del Cabo, Sudáfrica.

¡Bienvenidos a la Semana 3 / Ronda 3 del Festival de Música Hive! Un enorme agradecimiento a @edwardstobia por iniciar esto - de nuevo, ¡disfruté mucho de los posts de la Ronda 2 que pude ver la semana pasada!

¡Con todos los maravillosos comentarios, voy a seguir aprovechando esta oportunidad para compartir mis propias canciones originales! Me encanta tocar covers, pero tengo HIVE Open Mic, Three Tunes Tuesday, y mi propia iniciativa donde acepto peticiones de covers los jueves para hacerlo, así que por favor síganme para ver si les gustaría verme abordar canciones de otros artistas...

He tenido una relación intermitente con la música. De pequeño se pensaba que tenía cierto potencial, pero en el instituto era demasiado tímido para tocar en público, así que me centré en los estudios y el atletismo. Luego estudié ingeniería química/de procesos en la universidad y empecé a tocar la guitarra de nuevo para relajarme, y luego me encontré escribiendo canciones...

Entonces empecé a tocar en clubs de música y micrófonos abiertos, pero seguía siendo demasiado tímido para ir más allá y hacer un marketing adecuado o utilizar las redes sociales. Recuerdo que me frustré con la escena musical de Ciudad del Cabo. Los locales estaban vacíos o, si había público, no estaban allí para escuchar música sino para charlar en voz alta, o el local tenía un sonido pésimo, etc. No era fácil para un joven tímido e inseguro que se tomaba a sí mismo demasiado en serio.

Lamentablemente, dejé de actuar en público durante unos diez años para centrarme en el trabajo, y sólo tocaba para mis amigos y mi familia alrededor de una braai (barbacoa) de vez en cuando... mi nivel de habilidad se quedó estancado en lugar de mejorar.

Entonces ocurrió la pandemia de Covid, y volví a tener más tiempo para tocar música. Empecé a enviar a mi madre una grabación en la que tocaba una nueva canción durante los primeros 100 días de encierro.

Descubrí que mi vieja amiga del colegio @clairemobey estaba intentando volver a escribir canciones y empezamos a colaborar. A medida que los bloqueos disminuían, empezamos a hacer nuestros primeros conciertos juntos, incluyendo las primeras veces que me han pagado por tocar música original (en el pasado tuve algunos conciertos de covers pagados).

Me di cuenta de que no me tomaba tan en serio a mí mismo y de que volvía a disfrutar de la música sin preocuparme demasiado por el resultado, siempre y cuando mejorara en mi opinión. También ayuda el hecho de que sólo podemos encontrar tiempo para tocar en público una vez al mes, y por lo tanto podemos concentrarnos en los pequeños locales más bonitos de Ciudad del Cabo, con buen sonido y con un público agradecido. Mis amigos y mi familia parecen apoyarme mucho más ahora que también disfruto tocando para ellos. ¡Jaja!

Entonces, hace unos 6 meses, el compañero de Claire @zakludick empezó a invitarme a mí y a otros sudafricanos a HIVE. ¡Descubrí Hive Open Mic y las Comunidades Musicales, y ahora tengo un montón de maneras de ser forzado a aprender canciones y mejorar constantemente como resultado!

Así pues, mi tercera canción original que he elegido para la tercera semana del Festival de Música de Hive se llama "Fairy and the Fly". Es muy especial para mí, ya que probablemente sea la primera canción decente que escribí, cuando era un estudiante universitario que debía estar estudiando para un examen avanzado de matemáticas en ese momento. Es sin duda la canción original más antigua que sigo tocando hasta hoy.

"Fairy and the Fly" es un cuento de hadas que escribí en una sola tarde y al que puse música y terminé en un solo instante de inspiración. Mirando la canción ahora, puedo verla como una ventana a mi alma. He trabajado en mi salud mental y emocional, y sé que cuando me siento inseguro, tiendo a validarme jugando a ser el caballero blanco o el salvador, a menudo descuidando mis necesidades mientras me centro en los intentos de "salvar" a otras personas o hacerlas felices. Esto nunca funciona realmente. Esta canción lleva este tema al extremo.

Por cierto, estoy haciendo un post semanal los jueves en el que pido peticiones de canciones versionadas en los comentarios, y luego si intento tu canción en el post de la semana siguiente, te conviertes en beneficiario del 50% de las recompensas del post en HP. Si te parece interesante, por favor, piensa en una canción que te gustaría que intentara y estate atento a mi post del jueves...

Letra de "Fairy and the Fly" de @jasperdick (original)

Déjame contarte una historia, me pregunto si sabes
Sobre una familia de hadas, que vivió hace mucho tiempo
El padre era un hombre rico, la madre estaba cubierta de oro
La hija, era tan hermosa, sus ojos cortaban en lo más profundo de tu alma...
Una banda de trolls llegó al bosque, en una noche de frío intenso
Habían oído hablar de la familia de hadas, habían oído hablar de todo el oro
Esa noche entraron en acción, esa noche había sangre para derramar
Aunque el padre, les rogó piedad, tanto él como el hada madre fueron asesinados...
Y en cuanto a la hija hada, los trolls hicieron cosas terribles
La abandonaron en un pantano, después de arrancarle las dos alas.
Con la espalda sangrando se desmayó, estaba segura de que pronto moriría
Pero se despertó y se encontró en la casa de una amable libélula
La libélula dijo "Te daré comida y te adoraré toda mi vida"
"Hada hija eres tan bonita, ¿no quieres ser mi esposa?"
"¡Pero eres una bestia fea!" dijo la hija, "y no me interesan todas tus cosas"
"¡Nunca más seré verdaderamente feliz, hasta que tenga un nuevo par de alas!"
A la mañana siguiente encontró a la 'mosca, se había colgado con hilo de araña
Y a través de las lágrimas en sus ojos la hija del hada vio que su salvador estaba realmente muerto
Había dejado una nota explicando cómo porque nunca habían intercambiado anillos
Se había suicidado, ahora con un cuchillo y un hechizo, ella podría servirse de sus alas
Bueno, tú eres mi hija hada
Y yo soy tu libélula
Porque tú no me quieres
Cuelgo mi cabeza y yo... Lloro...


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
16 Comments
Ecency