SONG REQUEST 50% HP Challenge Week 7! - Winner: @hellsveiah Runner-up: @joanstewart


Hello everybody on HIVE, and especially the Music Community. My name is Jasper and I'm writing (and singing) to you from Cape Town, South Africa!

I have decided to start a challenging series of posts! BUT I Need your Help!

This is the challenge I'm setting myself every week: I ask for cover song requests on the MUSIC community, and then pick a favourite song to learn and post a live video of me attempting it. The person who asked for the winning song then gets 50% of the post rewards in HP!

I received some excellent requests this week! If I didn't get around to your request this week, please keep asking for it and there is a good chance it will win in the weeks to come! Please keep trying with either the same request, or a different one, in the comments of this post?

There were also some songs that I would love to tackle with my singing and writing friend @clairemobey. When I see her again we will do some duets, or songs where she should sing lead, and share the posts and reward the people who requested those songs as well! This request challenge seems to be (hopefully) taking off!

Let's get to this week's winner!

This week's winner is @hellsveiah who asked for something I thought was incredibly beautiful but very intimidating in how complex and delicate it was. To my great delight I seem to be improving at learning new songs, possibly because of this challenge I've set myself on HIVE... and I've decided to give it a go even if I make a few mistakes! @hellsveiah asked for "Time in a Bottle" by Jim Croce.

Here is the original:

Well done @hellsveiah - you will be getting 50% of this post's rewards in HP!

Well, I guess I should formalise it... This is the 7th week out of 7 that I have felt like learning a second song, and offering the runner-up account 20% of the post's rewards in HP as well. This week the runner-up song is "Every Little Thing she does is Magic" by The Police (Sting's Band before he went solo). This request was by @joanstewart who is from South Africa, like me, and is therefore one of the inspiring South African accounts who found out about HIVE before I did!

Here is the original:

NOW READER, perhaps next week is your turn? Please give me some suggestions of cover songs you would like me to try next week, and maybe you'll be the winner next time!

See you Next Week!

Lyrics for "Time in a Bottle" by Jim Croce

If I could save time in a bottle
The first thing that I'd like to do
Is to save every day 'til eternity passes away
Just to spend them with you
If I could make days last forever
If words could make wishes come true
I'd save every day like a treasure, and then
Again, I would spend them with you
But there never seems to be enough time
To do the things you want to do once you find them
I've looked around enough to know
That you're the one I want to go through time with
If I had a box just for wishes
And dreams that had never come true
The box would be empty
Except for the memory of how they were answered by you
But there never seems to be enough time
To do the things you want to do once you find them
I've looked around enough to know
That you're the one I want to go through time with

Source: Musixmatch
Songwriters: Jim Croce
Time in a Bottle lyrics © H&r Lastrada Music, R2m Publishing, Spobs Music Inc

Lyrics for "Every Little Thing she does is Magic"

Though I've tried before to tell her
Of the feelings I have for her in my heart
Every time that I come near her
I just lose my nerve as I've done from the start
Every little thing she does is magic
Everything she do just turns me on
Even though my life before was tragic
Now I know my love for her goes on
Do I have to tell the story
Of a thousand rainy days since we first met?
It's a big enough umbrella
But it's always me that ends up getting wet
Every little thing she does is magic
Everything she do just turns me on
Even though my life before was tragic
Now I know my love for her goes on
I resolved to call her up
A thousand times a day
And ask her if she'll marry me
Some old-fashioned way
But my silent fears have gripped me
Long before I reach the phone
Long before my tongue has tripped me
Must I always be alone
Every little thing she does is magic
Everything she do just turns me on
Even though my life before was tragic
Now I know my love for her goes on
Every little thing she does is magic
Everything she do just turns me on
Even though my life before was tragic
Now I know my love for her goes on
On and on and on and
Every little thing, every little thing
Every little thing, every little thing
Every little, every little, every little
Every little thing she does
Every little thing she does
Every little thing she does
Every little thing she does
Thing she does is magic
E-oh E-oh E-oh E-oh E-oh E-oh E-oh E-oh
E-oh E-oh E-oh E-oh E-oh E-oh E-oh E-oh
Every little thing, every little thing
Every little thing she do is magic, magic, magic
Magic, magic, magic
Oh oh, Oh oh
E-oh oh oh oh oh
I have to tell a story
Of a thousand rainy days since we first met
It's a big enough umbrella
But it's always me that ends up getting wet

Source: Musixmatch
Songwriters: Gordon Sumner / Ninne Olsson
Every Little Thing She Does Is Magic lyrics © Gm Sumner, Songs Of Universal Inc.


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency