MUSIC: Three Tune Tuesday 136 - 3 Songs on the Theme of “Amistad (Friendship)” (Hive Open Mic Week 195)

Hello everybody on HIVE, and especially the Music Community. My name is Jasper and I'm writing to you from Cape Town in South Africa!

Welcome to "Three Tune Tuesday", an initiative started by @ablaze. It is week 136 overall! My current pattern for how I will be contributing to TTT is to take the Hive Open Mic challenge Theme of the Week and give suggestions on how I would tackle it!

For those of you who are not familiar, the Hive Open Mic is a weekly challenge on the Hive Open Mic community for anybody who loves to sing. You don’t even need to play an instrument, a backing track or a cappella is also fine as far as I can tell!

Different artists are given the chance to choose a “Theme of the Week” that the posts should be based on. Often it can be difficult for people to think about easy songs that might fit that theme… so let me see if I can be of any assistance to the people who still might not know what to try by the time Tuesday comes around!

All right! Let’s get cracking!

Here is the post inviting everyone to participate in this week’s Hive Open Mic (Week 195):

@hiveopenmic/hive-open-mic-195-worldwide-live-music-event

As you can see, it was the turn of @nazatpt to pick a theme, and this week the theme is “Amistad”, which means “friendship” in English!

So let me have a good think…

SONG NUMBER 1

“Thank You for Being a Friend” – Andrew Gold

To be honest, I always thought this song was sung by a lady, but it turns out that is only for when it was used as the theme song for the “Golden Girls” sitcom, which is probably the only way people my age and younger know it anyway? Hahaha!

SONG NUMBER 2

“You’ve Got a Friend in Me” – Randy Newman

This it the beautiful song from the “Toy Story” movie.

I think I’ve actually tackled this one before for Hive Open Mic… What was the theme then? Oh yes, it was “A Good Friend (Hive Open Mic #159)… Here is my entry:
@jasperdick/hjsttjxa

SONG NUMBER 3

“How to Save a Life” – The Fray

With it’s iconic chorus “Where did I go wrong? I lost a friend…” this song always reminds me of trying to “save” the friends and people I care about, and eventually realizing that I cannot save people by myself… I can only support those people who are trying to save themselves. It is a very hard thing to accept still. You will see in the comments of the song that it reminds many people of losing loved ones to suicide…

So that's week 136 done and dusted! I hope that gave some people some ideas on how to tackle the Hive Open Mic Challenge this week? Perhaps I’ve even inspired one or two new people to give it a try? Please let me know!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
7 Comments
Ecency