MUSIC: Three Tune Tuesday 124 - 3 Songs on the Theme of “Hasta La Vista!” (Hive Open Mic Week 183)

Hello everybody on HIVE, and especially the Music Community. My name is Jasper and I'm writing to you from Cape Town in South Africa!

This is my 59th week in a row contributing to "Three Tune Tuesday", an initiative started by @ablaze. It is week 124 overall!

My new pattern for how I will be contributing to TTT is to take the Hive Open Mic challenge Theme of the Week and give suggestions on how I would tackle it!

For those of you who are not familiar, the Hive Open Mic is a weekly challenge on the Hive Open Mic community for anybody who loves to sing. You don’t even need to play an instrument, a backing track or a cappella is also fine as far as I can tell!

Different artists are given the chance to choose a “Theme of the Week” that the posts should be based on. Often it can be difficult for people to think about easy songs that might fit that theme… so let me see if I can be of any assistance to the people who still might not know what to try by the time Tuesday comes around!

All right! Let’s get cracking!

Here is the post inviting everyone to participate in this week’s Hive Open Mic (Week 183):

@hiveopenmic/hive-open-mic-183-worldwide-live-music-event

As you can see, it was the turn of @glowie to pick a theme, and this week the theme is “Hasta la Vista”!

What? You only want songs from the “Terminator” movie soundtrack? The only time that most English speakers have ever heard that phrase was when Arnold Schwartzenegger’s character said it!

It turns out that “Hasta la Vista” translates literally to “Until the View”, which is a Spanish way to say “Until I see you again”, or basically “Goodbye”. So for the English people on Hive, this week’s theme is “Goodbye”!

Famous songs about “Goodbye”!

How about “Leaving on a Jet Plane” by John Denver? Most people already have the chorus stuck somewhere in their memory, and the music in it’s most basic form can be reduced to three main chords:

How about “Goodbye My Lover” by James Blunt? If you are somebody like me who likes to tends to focus on emotional performance as much as, or even more than, musical performance, then this is probably the kind of song you enjoy tackling?

Finally, for those that prefer to tackle some rap, how about Wiz Khalifa and Charlie Puth’s tribute song to Paul Walker (From the “Fast and Furious” movies): “See You Again”? The chorus is very catchy and would be a good challenge to anyone who wants to tackle rap and singing in the same song! The added bonus is that “when I see you again” is a much more literal translation for “Hasta la Vista”, so you can feel like you really put an effort into matching the theme!

So that's week 124 done and dusted! I hope that gave some people some ideas on how to tackle the Hive Open Mic Challenge this week? Perhaps I’ve even inspired one or two new people to give it a try? Please let me know!

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
6 Comments
Ecency