COVER Request Contest Week 25! - Winner (50% Post Rewards in HP): @yisusth!


Hello everybody on HIVE, and especially the Music Community. My name is Jasper and I'm writing (and singing) to you from Cape Town, South Africa! There is definitely a cold or flu going around Cape Town as the season’s change, so forgive me if I sound a bit more blocked up than usual!

I am into the 25th week of this challenging series of posts I have set myself for Thursdays! BUT I need your help to keep going please!

This is the challenge I'm setting myself every Thursday: I ask for cover song requests on the MUSIC community (make a comment on this post to take part by suggesting a song for me to try), and then I pick a favourite song to learn and post a live video of me attempting it. The person who asked for the winning song then gets 50% of the post rewards in HP! It's as simple as that! (Well for everyone but me - who then has to learn to sing and play a new song every week! Haha!)

Again, I got some a couple of awesome requests this week! Yay! Please give me more!!

The winner this week is @yisusth (real name Jesus) from Venezuela! He is an awesome trumpet player that shares a lot of music on Hive himself! He’s also incredibly supportive of other musicians on HIVE, including me, and he helps to run the Music Zone Community that is currently running the Hive Music Festival! So, it’s great to sing him his song choice this week, which is the inspiring “I Believe I Can Fly” by R. Kelly!

This is one of those tricky situations where we have to separate the Art from the Artist… R. Kelly has been found guilty, and has been sent to prison, for a variety of horrific sex crimes, some including children. How can a person like that, write a song like this?

I guess it’s important to remember that celebrities are not gods or heroes, but normal people, and sometimes far worse…
It is still a fantastic song though… so let me give it a try as best I can!

Here is the original version of the song:

Congratulations @ yisusth! You win 50% of this post's rewards in HP!

So, that’s Week 25 of my own Initiative on Thursdays done and dusted!

So now, for everybody else reading this, please take part! All you have to do is make a comment on this post with a suggestion for a cover song that you would like me to attempt next week. Give it a shot!!

Lyrics for "I believe I can Fly" by R. Kelly

I used to think that I could not go on
And life was nothing but an awful song
But now I know the meaning of true love
I'm leaning on the everlasting arms
If I can see it, then I can do it
If I just believe it, there's nothing to it
I believe I can fly
I believe I can touch the sky
I think about it every night and day
Spread my wings and fly away
I believe I can soar
I see me running through that open door
I believe I can fly
I believe I can fly
I believe I can fly (woo)
See I was on the verge of breaking down
Sometimes silence can seem so loud
There are miracles in life I must achieve
But first I know it starts inside of me
If I can see it, then I can be it
If I just believe it, there's nothing to it
I believe I can fly
I believe I can touch the sky
I think about it every night and day
Spread wings and fly away
I believe I can soar
I see me running through that open door
I believe I can fly
I believe I can fly
I believe I can fly (woo!)
Hey, 'cause I believe in you
Oh
If I can see it (woo!), then I can do it (I can do it)
If I just believe it, there's nothing to it (hey)
I believe I can fly (woo!)
I believe I can touch the sky
I think about it every night and day
Spread my wings and fly away
I believe I can soar
I see me running through that open door
I believe I can fly (I can fly)
I believe I can fly (I can fly)
I believe I can fly (I can fly)
If I just spread my wings (I can fly)
I can fly (I can fly)
I can fly (I can fly)
I can fly (I can fly)
If I just spread my wings (I can fly)
I can fly (I can fly, I can fly)
Woo (I can fly)
Hm-mm... fly, fly, fly
Source: Musixmatch
Songwriters: אלקיים חגי / Kelly,robert S
I Believe I Can Fly - Radio Edit lyrics © Universal Music - Z Songs, R. Kelly Publ. Inc.


▶️ 3Speak

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
12 Comments
Ecency