Edtopic - Stuck here in a coma (an original music video)

This weeks Edtopic is about Art or Creativity. I took an interest in music at an early age, and even began writing short tunes, and the like, from the age of around 4 (although infrequently). When I eventually started learning guitar at around the age of 14, things took off and I just immersed myself in music. For me it was always about the creativity. I'm happy playing the music of others, but I'm happier creating and playing my own.

The video above is a song I wrote back in the 80s when I was a teenager. My nephew and I finally recorded it in about 2015/2016 or so, and I also put together the "video" for it ! My guitar playing skills are better than my video production skills - clearly !

We recorded the song using PC multi tracking software, which is fairly common these days. The drums are computer generated, but I played the mandolin, bass, and main guitars. My nephew is a much better singer than me, so he took lead vocals, and did most of the backing vocals too, plus a small amount of backing guitar. I added a couple of other backing vocals as well - but my singing aint great, so they are low in the mix !

I think it only took us about 2-3 hours to record - but its a fairly straight forward song. I've been recording for a long time, so knew my way around the software, and my nephew is a professional sound engineer and really knows his stuff so that all helped.

A few months after recording the song, I had the idea for a video, and just put it together using what I had around the house, and my daughters lego - she wasnt impressed when she saw it !

I find the video really fun, and still enjoy watching it.

We did do a couple of other projects together but never really properly finished them. I have written and recorded many other songs as well, but this is probably one of my favs.

Anyway, that wraps up my creativity post for this week. I'd be happy to hear feedback on the song and the video !

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
15 Comments
Ecency