Goodbye Yellow Brick Road - Ed Privat (cover)

So I've learned from my mistake, the song at the top, so everyone can just click on it...To the the poooint!

Hi everyone.

I hope that you are having a good week, here the storm "Gerard" is currently above France, or at least was since yesterday. What a strange name for a storm, Gerard.

Anyway, a lot of rain, lot's of wind, so I had to change my plan of wanting to shoot the video for Goodbye Yellow Brick Road outside, I had a very cool concept, but in the end I will probably use it for a different song, maybe one of mine.

I've recorded the song this week, a little bit every night, between midnight and 2am. That was the only time that I had, as my wife went to South Africa for a week and was alone with 3 kids.

No complain, it is what it is, but I am just giving you a little bit of context. Done...

Now let's talk about the song. This is a brilliant one by Elton John called Goodbye Yellow Brick Road, the one that really put it on the map at the time, as one of the best songwriter and singer out there.
It's also the name of the album, and one of the track that carries that brilliant sound of the time.

The road is a reference to L. Frank Baum's The Wizard of Oz film and book series..

The lyrics are from Bernie Taupin, the long time co writer of Elton's songs, and they apparently just wrote it and recorded very quick, while all the musicians were living together is the same house.

In the morning, all the musos would have breakfast, and Elton would figure out some chords on Bernie's lyrics, this is how the song came out. Really brilliant.

IMG_20230117_135713.jpg

Lately, there is a movie called Antman & The Wasp that is using this track for their trailer, and I thought it was the right time to surf on the algorithm, and worked on my own version of the song, with lot's of backing vocals and an intimate guitar.

I am ok with the result, like everything that I do I am in love with it the night I record it, can't stop listening to it, then the next day I hate it, then I fix what's wrong and try to be at peace with the result.

I changed the key a semi tone lower to be able to play that open E string, this is the highest I can with my falsetto anyway, working on that "AAAAAh" note was probably the most challenging part of the song.

The key changes on the chorus, after chatting with people on Youtube, I've been told that it's using chromatic mediant, which makes sense, if you are not famililar with the term, it means :

What is a chromatic mediant modulation?
2.1 Chromatic Mediants. 🔗 In a common-tone modulation, the two chords connecting the two keys are typically in a chromatic mediant relationship. Chromatic mediants are chords with roots a third apart that share only one common tone and have the same quality (both are major or both are minor).

src

IMG_20230115_170250.jpg

I am currently shooting everyday a music video for one of my original song, that will be finished in a month or two, here is a few pics, and the AI art I am working on for the cover art, using a real picture as a source.

IMG_20230117_101551.jpg

Ed_Privat_glowing_energy_around_the_universe_with_energy_coming_0eb24377-fe68-4911-ad04-a1e7ab79058c.png

Ed_Privat_Incredible_explosive_energy_similar_to_the_ki_with_th_5cef26f8-93b9-46c8-a3b7-bd39fcdaffcf.png

Ed_Privat_glowing_energy_around_the_universe_with_energy_coming_17ac2d4c-395a-4082-b54d-f1c0fc4f39f7.png

Goodbye Yellow Brick Road

When are you gonna come down?
When are you going to land?
I should have stayed on the farm
I should have listened to my old man
You know you can't hold me forever
I didn't sign up with you
I'm not a present for your friends to open
This boy's too young to be singing
The blues, ah, ah
So goodbye yellow brick road
Where the dogs of society howl
You can't plant me in your penthouse
I'm going back to my plough
Back to the howling old owl in the woods
Hunting the horny back toad
Oh, I've finally decided my future lies
Beyond the yellow brick road
Ah, ah
What do you think you'll do then?
I bet they'll shoot down the plane
It'll take you a couple of vodka and tonics
To set you on your feet again
Maybe you'll get a replacement
There's plenty like me to be found
Mongrels who ain't got a penny
Sniffing for tidbits like you
On the ground, ah, ah
So goodbye yellow brick road
Where the dogs of society howl
You can't plant me in your penthouse
I'm going back to my plough
Back to the howling old owl in the woods
Hunting the horny back toad
Oh, I've finally decided my future lies
Beyond the yellow brick road
Ah, ah

Ed_Privat_Ed_Privat_Logo_for_music_and_AI_5e334d9c-738a-4934-b032-65ef1820b130.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency