Spread the Vibes challenge ... Bridging Classical and Techno

A long long long time ago, a request was recorded onto our HIVE blockchain; A request to Spread some Vibes. It's about time to try and do so!


photo: shot a long time ago at some festival

The Invite (source post)

@edje: There is some minimalistic underground techno music I would like to hear. And as I said earlier, I would like to know more about that, not just because we will be one day almost neighbours if that finka dream comes true, so to have a topic to talk about and not me being without knowledge, but as well we always learn something new. There is still so many things I have to discover, and no time to lose. I hope miss Time will let you do your post, one day :)

In summary: Invite... Finca... Time... Teaching... and Techno.

In short: IFTTT

Wait!... What? ... IF This Then That?

The service that we all know - maybe not all, maybe only a few (check it out: here). A service that allows us to automate. A service that enriches our apps. Send a trigger - an event, a message - to IFTTT, and in response, it'll trigger something else we like to be woken up. Exactly that is what @mipiano was trying to do last week: Trying all her best to wake me up! Not just chat messages came my way, but she developed and shared contest, challenge and project ideas with an active role for yours truly. Everything was done to try and get me to continue where I left the Spread the Vibes challenge.

IFTTT

Invite: the response below
Finca: a small one - on Ibiza - would be perfect
Time: still trying to find more of it
Teaching: will try
Techno: one of my loves in life

Heavenly

When I first heard the piece of Einaudi (played by @mipiano: click me), I felt Love with Goosebumps all over my body. Had the piece on repeat while getting some food from the grocery store. Manual repeat, if I may add since 3Speak doesn't have a repeat feature. But still, on repeat. Though I've been introduced by the same user to Einaudi before, this was the first time I heard such a minimal piano composition of this guy. A composition that does what I love so much about some of the Techno styles I like. A composition that is hypnotic of nature. A composition that allows mind travelling. And it is exactly that - the mind travelling - I love so much! It's kinda daydreaming but with the music controlling the flow. Flowing around, guided by the music, the mind adds thoughts and visuals (eyes must be closed).

In my case: More visuals than thoughts. Mostly tunnels in undefined directions. Building as I move along. Up and down, left and right, faster and slower. Abstract objects appearing and fading, in full sync with the different sounds in the music. Sometimes dark; Sometimes in full-on colour. Whatever I like at that moment. Guided by the music, my mind is in free flow. Sometimes a little push towards the visual experience I want, followed by a complete thoughtless mind travel adventure.

I remember the days I was more with the music than with the people when being at techno events. Eyes closed for most of the night. Nights I mostly travelled while not moving my feet more than a few decimeters, front and back, left and right. Thinking of it, this kinda travelling is the most eco-friendly travelling we can imagine! It only cost a little fuel (some food every few hours), while it gives energy to the mind in many ways.

I Want More

Though I remember telling MiPiano off-chain, I was not looking for the original by Einaudi, last week I searched for it. Not to compare, but to create a playlist I like to share with my friends and others in the Techno scene. To show them, classical music can have very similar effects as Techno. Therefore I love to get links to the most minimal pieces of music by Einaudi. Other composers are allowed also. The more the merrier πŸ˜ƒ

ps

Yes, I did - and still do - love the playing as well! πŸ˜‰

Adding to the Vibes

The promise was - as can be read in the comment section of the referenced post (source) - to bring forward some Techno; Music created by some guy from Chile. Time will not erase such promise; Even when 5 weeks passed since making that promise. The request was for minimal techno. And minimal techno it'll be! Though a different type of minimal as opposed to what I shared in a previous Spread-the-Vibes post (here).

I suppose, minimal Techno comes in many different shapes and forms. Some of it I Love. Some of it I like. And some of it is meant for other ears and minds than mine. But I can tell you: Most of what this guy from Chile produces (and plays for that matter), I LOVE!

Back in 2016, someone uploaded an unreleased track.

I still remember it like yesterday when a good friend showed me where to find it. During a break during a business meeting at my place in the tiny city of Amsterdam, she took control over my media player and suddenly the room was filled with what you can hear by clicking the play button in the video below. 45 Minutes of ecstasy 😜 No, not an album, or a DJ set. A single track!

I wouldn't be surprised if this was cut short, though the result is still the length of an album. I learned from someone who sat with this Chile guy in his Berlin studio a few times over the last so many years, Ricardo Villalobos (yes, that's the guy from Chile) is someone who has sounds playing all the time, from the first second when entering his studio to the last. He seems to play with his Modular setup constantly: Plugging and unplugging cables, moving them between units, turning switches and knobs. At a seemingly random moment in time, he presses the record button and an hour or more later, he cuts the recording and done. He always seems to have troubles whenever he releases a track.

All his recordings are too lengthy for vinyl, so he needs to cut, cut and cut. Something he doesn't seem to like, so I was told. Maybe that's the reason for the limited amount of official releases; About 2 tracks/EPs a year (his discography at Discogs).

I do hope, you all enjoy the music!


'Bionic Sad' by Ricardo Villalobos (source youtube)

My Invites

As with any challenge (even when this challenge is not a challenge), it is customary to invite others. Please don't mind my lack of creativity in my selection, but for different reasons - which I'll briefly explain below - I re-invite some of them.

@mipiano: You requested more minimal techno. You expressed the wish to learn more about this genre. And I promised to follow up and circle back my response. I love to learn more about Einaudi's minimal side, or similar sounds by the hands of other classical composers. I love to hear/read from you what you think about the minimal sound of 'Bionic Sad'. And I'm sure you'll like to continue Spreading the Vibes πŸ˜‰

@uwelang: It was a few weeks ago I read your post about this guy from Chile. Though a little surprised you only recently discovered this guy, I was very happy to read you liked what you heard. Though not completely your style, I like to learn what you think of the track above. Different to what you listened to, therefore the change is more than zero you respond with: "I Love This Track!". Aaaahhh, maybe not! 🀣

@nickyhavey: If I remember correctly, it was my share of a set recording by Etapp Kyle (could also be Peter van Hoesen) that resulted in a request from you to share more of that stuff. Well, here you go πŸ™ƒ Different to the previous, but somehow a similar vibe. Interested to learn what you think of it 😢

You: Needless to say, I invite everybody else as well! Let's get our feet into our dancing shoes. Swing, Swirl and Dance as much as we can. And then sit down, write and share our thoughts and music selection.

Girls and Guys: This challenge has no timing requirements, so don't feel being pressured to react immediately. But, I do expect a response from you all! I'll hunt you down when you don't! {no pressure 🀣}.

Spread the Vibes challenge (launch post)

Why this challenge? Easy: To spread warm vibes in our HIVE community and along the way to challenge ourselves and others about and around a topic we all love: MUSIC.

You don't have to do much. Just pick a song, write something and invite one or more users to react to your music share. To add a little extra to connect all of us a little more, let's add our reaction to the song shared with us as well. I like it when the song we select is from a genre that is liked by those we invite. In case you don't know the musical taste of those you'll invite, you may check their blog, or search their blog with 'HiveSearcher'.

When using the command: music author:edje you'll get a list of all posts and comments containing the word 'music' posted by the user edje (that's I πŸ™ƒ). Replace 'music' with whatever you like to search for. Replace 'edje' with the user you like to dig into.

Tip: Write something with a personal touch. This can be anything: from your thoughts and opinions of the music you share and react to, to any story you like to share with the music. Remember: Music shares without a personal touch is just music that we can find anywhere on the internet. Cool in itself: But won’t we appreciate music more when something personal is added?

Spread the Vibes Guidelines

No rules, but guidelines:

  • Post Content
    • your reaction to the music that was shared with you
    • your music selection and related story
    • your invites of other HIVE members
    • link to the post you react to
  • Post Tags
  • Post Community
    • any community you like

Easy Peasy! πŸ™ƒ

Spread the Vibes Rewards: Lame

Usually, a challenge is packaged with monetary incentives. But, isn't that boring? And isn't monetising positive vibes not lame? Passion, energy and community vibes: That's what counts!

So you know: Though we can't guarantee some whale or curator team selecting your post for a boost, we also can't guarantee this will not happen πŸ˜‰


Let Us Continue Spreading That Vibe


a HIVE original
all images by edje unless stated otherwise
qsounds music & story library | A...K | L...Z |
hive curator with some curie superpowers

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
24 Comments
Ecency