System F - Out Of The Blue remix!

System F - Out Of The Blue (James Black Remix) - TRANCE

System-F-Out-Of-The-Blue.jpg

Trance music has always been a passion of mine. Its what I first got exposed to as 'the modern commercial dance music'. When I was growing up, my dad had a midlife crisis and decided to go back clubbing again with his mates. He used to return at the end of the night with a tape that he bought off the dj, containing the dj's latest mix. The club was The Polo Club in Maidstone and the music was from 1997. On this tape was Robert Miles - Children, Brainbug - Nightmare, DJ Quicksilver, Age of Love etc. Of course, I didn't know the names of these tracks as the tape was literally blank, except for the DJs contact details. It was high energy, it was spiritual, it was like nothing else I had ever heard. I was 12. I then took myself into a journey of musical exploration, fascinated by the music that was on this tape, which soon lead me to Friday / Saturday Nights on Radio 1, and it appeared that this same music that was on this tape, was also on mainstream radio! Diving headfirst into this Dance music scene, I started to read clubbing magazines (despite then being only 13, I was reading and memorising the line ups for clubs I was still too junior to visit), the stories of clubland and the absolutely crazy parties that happened. I learned about Judge Jules, Dave Pearce, Danny Rampling, Seb Fontaine - all Radio 1 staples who showed me this world to which I yearned. My homework from school was done on a Friday night, headphones in and plugged onto Radio 1 whilst these DJ heroes of mine, played this music - it completely enraptured me and I was hooked.

Around the millennium, house music had been the warm up to this sound exploding across dancefloors - TRANCE! The frantic synth-lead music scene which had a generation reaching for the lasers, as I was reaching for my homework. I used to listen intently and write down the names of tracks that I had heard and loved from Radio 1. And one such track was 'Out Of The Blue'. In 2003, I got my first turntables - Technics 1210s mk2 (you HAVE to do it properly) and I found a copy of this very record. I played it in every trance set I could, hypnotised by the melody and lifted by the euphoric explosion that happens at the drop.

Fast forward to 2021, I am still DJing, but now I am producing too - and I wonder to myself, could I do a faithful remix, a revision, of this now legendary Trance record. There have been a few remixes done, but none that really hit the button of the original for me. So I dove into Logic Pro X and gave it my best shot. This remix is a pure labor of love, a work where I treat the original with absolute respect - and above, linked is my effort. If you are unfamiliar with the original, I shall post it as a link below.

System F - Out Of The Blue (original)

I studied the original with such intensity, I watched interviews with Ferry Corsten on HOW he made this track and what he used. I replicated alot of his methods, right down to the percussive clapping on the 909!

Anyway, it is at the top of the page. Thankyou for reading my story and understanding that remixes can be done with a degree of care and respect to the original, because there is nothing but love for this 'out of the blue' track.

Enjoy! x

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
1 Comment
Ecency