Three Tunes Tuesday - Film Music

Three Tune Tuesday.png

Welcome to my second edition of #threetunetuesday!

If you are wondering what that means, perhaps this quote from @ablaze will get you tuned in:

Every Tuesday I'm going to share 3 songs that I like to listen to and I invite your feedback in the comments below. Better still, why not have a blast of your own Three Tune Tuesday and mention me in the post and I'll come and find the post and upvote it. If you could also use #threetunetuesday tag that would be great, as that is what I use when sifting through all the entries every Wednesday. It'll be a sweet way for us all to discover new music. You'll also be in with a chance of winning the prize - more on that later.

So let's get to it! This week's theme came up when I was writing a CineTV post about the movie Rocky IV. Surely, we can all agree that it has one of the most killer soundtracks ever. So many songs I immediately connect to the movie every time I hear those on the radio.

Now let's turn that around and ask, which song begins to play in your head when you think of a particular movie? Which tunes and films are inseparable?


The Crying Game

There are some movies that have a music scene that kinda puts the whole film to a halt and takes the viewers elsewhere for a while. This is one of those moments. It is also an important turning point in the film since at this moment Stephen Rea's character falls in love and that is, of course, the beginning of the end.

In Neil Jordan's film, The Crying Game, the noisy bar suddenly quiets down and the crowd fixes their gaze on the mesmerizing performance by Jaye Davidson.


Push It To The Limit

When I close my eyes and think of Scarface, the first thing I hear is the sound of a chainsaw from that nasty bathroom scene. Gladly, it is soon replaced by the fast, familiar '80s beat. Paul Engemann's Push It To The Limit is to Scarface what Kenny Loggins' Danger Zone is to Top Gun.

This tune is as much over the top as the whole Brian DePalma's film. Push It To The Limit is screaming that 1980s mentality - give me everything at once, nothing is impossible. Visions of neon shirts, shining chrome, and people going on overdrive are flooding my brain.

This was the song I was listening to when I was accumulating Terra LUNA.


Lost Boys Calling

I don't exactly remember this song that well from Giuseppe Tornatore's film, The Legend of 1900. Yet, at some point in my life, I used to listen to it quite often and so every time I think of the film I hear this haunting tune.

Made by three gentlemen you wouldn't think will ever fit in the same room. Composed by the maestro himself Ennio Morricone, 1900 also includes Pink Floyd mastermind Roger Waters on vocals and Eddie van Halen on guitar.

On every listening, this intriguing song brings up some mixed feelings. Occasionally it's full of hope while at the same time it gets me a bit sad and dreamy. It has this strange and beautiful, nostalgic feel to it.

Here's Lost Boys Calling.


That was this week's #TTT and the three film tunes that popped into my mind when remembering those legendary movies.

Thank you for reading and listening!


Thumbnail image source made with Canva
The Crying Game source
Push It To The Limit source
Lost Boys Calling source

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
36 Comments
Ecency