Radio: Some tips on how to get your own radio show + My #1 Recording

(Unsupported https://www.mixcloud.com/widget/iframe/?light=1&feed=%2Fbostock%2Fcrate-digs-diamonds-in-the-rough-22072020%2F)

.....I thought I would share a recording of my first ever radio show, on a underground U.K. station called CrateDigs. I started DJing at a young age and even up until recently would of never imagined having one of my mixes on a show let alone actually having a residency.

It’s still a crazy feeling to be able to put together a bunch of your favourite songs that you like and play them on air, it's just as much a mental workout as it is enjoyable and fun as anyone true jack will tell you.

I thought I would also share a few tips to getting your own show, this list isn’t exhaustive but is more just some quick thoughts on the usual lists that are out there on the internet:

Some advice for DJ's who are looking at getting their own radio show:

Look out for adverts

I actually managed to get my show by responding to an advert. Sometimes a new radio station will advertise that they are looking for new DJ’s or that they are they are looking for a fill in or something. Send in a demo, and lookout for a reply!

Check to see whether they have a demo or submission portal

It seems like I’m stating the obvious but sometimes getting your own show can seem like this terribly mystifying far off thing that you may not know that some of the shows you listen to, that person got that show by just asking whether they’re was a slot available!

Go on their website to the contact portal and they may have a “show proposal” form or contact. If it’s a particularly busy or coveted station then when you submit try make your show unique, something different, always play to your strengths and set yourself apart from the next person - no east feat but it’s always worth a try. Personalise your demo mix for the show your trying to create , make it unique and show them that you can be an asset to the station.

Just shoot your shot!

This can only work sometimes but if there isn’t a portal you could always just message the show or a DJ that has a show and ask for a guestmix. You can’t be pushy or demanding because that person probably worked just as hard as your working to get that too, BUT it doesn’t hurt to try! Just make sure it’s relevant or of a similar style. Most big DJ’s are just like any person and if they can hear a good sound in someone I’m sure they would overlook you popping up in their emails by you handing them 2 hours of solid mixing that would be great for their show.

Use any contacts you've made and try get your sound out there, true passion always resonates and there will (99.9% of the time) be somewhere where your skills and sound will fit!

I’m also always there for any tips or pointers if anyone needs any and I endeavour to get back to everyone eventually

If you have any tracks you think I might like do ping them below I curate offline just as much online, curation becoming half my life at this point ;)

Regardless I hope you enjoy the mix and whilst it may be a bit rough around the edges it’s mad to think that it was nearly a year ago, the constant lockdowns have made time flow weirdly and I can’t wait to be back out their smashing out the shows :)

Keep safe,

H

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency