Pink Floyd - Three Tune Tuesday - Song Recommendations Week 31 🗣🎶

20210504_140532.jpg

Week 31 is incoming and I'm quite surprised that I haven't done a Three Tune Tuesday based on these guys yet to be honest. They are one of the best bands to ever grace a stage in my humble opinion. They are one of the first bands I ever got into, as my older brothers and sisters often listened to The Wall and Dark Side of The Moon in the late 1980s.

Now, I could wax lyrical about 1980s Ireland, complete with dodgy wall paper, soda streams and massive phone books, but alas, this is a music post, so let's get back on schedule and talk tunes instead.

For those unfamiliar with TTT or Three Tune Tuesday....

The jist is as follows

Every Tuesday I'm going to share 3 songs which I like to listen to and I invite your feedback in the comments below. Or why not have a blast of your own Three Tune Tuesday and mention me in the post and I'll come and find the post and hopefully upvote it. It'll be a sweet way for us all to discover new music.

Here are the week thirty one recommendations for Three Tune Tuesday

** Drum roll please.....**

Pink Floyd- Comfortably Numb

Released before I was born in the early 80s, with "Hey You" as the B side - That's some B side right there. It's a B-side that is better than the majority of crap you see in the charts these days that passes as music.

It's a track from the 1979 concept album "The Wall" which was written about a bitter and lonely rock star named Pink. In "Comfortably Numb," Pink is medicated by a doctor so he can perform for a show. It is one of just two tracks on The Wall that are standalone and are not connected with an adjacent track. The other track was "Mother".

Here are the lyrics:

Hello? (Hello? Hello? Hello?)
Is there anybody in there?
Just nod if you can hear me
Is there anyone home?
Come on now
I hear you're feeling down
Well I can ease your pain
Get you on your feet again
Relax
I'll need some information first
Just the basic facts
Can you show me where it hurts?
There is no pain you are receding
A distant ship smoke on the horizon
You are only coming through in waves
Your lips move but I can't hear what you're saying
When I was a child I had a fever
My hands felt just like two balloons
Now I've got that feeling once again
I can't explain you would not understand
This is not how I am
I have become comfortably numb
I have become comfortably numb
Okay (okay, okay, okay)
Just a little pinprick
There'll be no more, ah
But you may feel a little sick
Can you stand up?
I do believe it's working, good
That'll keep you going through the show
Come on it's time to go
There is no pain you are receding
A distant ship, smoke on the horizon
You are only coming through in waves
Your lips move but I can't hear what you're saying
When I was a child
I caught a fleeting glimpse
Out of the corner of my eye
I turned to look but it was gone
I cannot put my finger on it now
The child is grown
The dream is gone
I have become comfortably numb

Pink Floyd - Shine on you Crazy Diamond

Another classic, this time from the album Wish You Were Here. This song is a tribute to founding member Syd Barrett who unfortunately lost his way in life, partly due to all the drugs he was doing with other band members. The others managed to get back to normal afterwards but Syd lost his way and suffered from mental health issues in the 1960s and eventually left the band altogether in 1968.

The band wrote this song about Syd who is the crazy diamond that is the theme of the song. The measure of this song is that it is 8 minutes in, before the first vocals kick. They literally don't make them like this anymore, even a 4 minute song these days is an outlier, never mind a 13 minute 23 second mammoth that this one lands in at.

Remember when you were young, you shone like the sun
Shine on you crazy diamond
Now there's a look in your eyes, like black holes in the sky
Shine on you crazy diamond
You were caught on the crossfire of childhood and stardom
Blown on the steel breeze
Come on you target for faraway laughter
Come on you stranger, you legend, you martyr, and shine
You reached for the secret too soon, you cried for the moon
Shine on you crazy diamond
Threatened by shadows at night, and exposed in the light
Shine on you crazy diamond
Well you wore out your welcome with random precision
Rode on the steel breeze
Come on you raver, you seer of visions
Come on you painter, you piper, you prisoner, and shine

Pink Floyd - Money

Ok, so that's one song from Wish You Were Here and one of the The Wall, so let's close out with a song from the 1973 hit album Dark Side of the Moon.

This album focused on the pressures faced by the band during their mad drugs years, and deals with the mental health problems suffered by Syd Barrett, as the band looked for answers through their musical ponderings.

I opted for Money after much deliberation, but it could easily have been any of the other nine tracks of this 42 minute masterpiece.

Money, get away
You get a good job with good pay and you're okay
Money, it's a gas
Grab that cash with both hands and make a stash
A new car, caviar, four star daydream
Think I'll buy me a football team
Money, well, get back
I'm all right Jack, keep your hands off of my stack
Money, it's a hit
Don't give me that do goody good bullshit
I'm in the high-fidelity first class travelling set
You know, I think I need a Lear jet
Money, it's a crime
Share it fairly but don't take a slice of my pie
Money, so they say
Is the root of all evil today
But if you ask for a raise
It's no surprise that they're giving none away
Away, away
Away, away
Away, away
I was in the right
Yes, absolutely in the righ
I certainly was in the right
You was definitely in the right, that geezer was cruising for a bruising
Why does anyone do anything?
I don't know, I was really drunk at the time
I was just telling him, he couldn't get into number two
He was asking why he wasn't coming up on freely
After I yelling and screaming and telling him why

Sin é, That's all folks, thanks for stopping by.

Thats all.jpg

That's it for another week. Those are your three songs for week thirty one. Let me know what you think - good, bad or indifferent? Did you like them all or just one or two?

Also, as I said before, I love getting good steers for new tunes, so please tell me about the latest and greatest from your playlist below and I'll be sure to check em out.

Thanks as always for stopping by everyone.

Peace Out

hgjbks2vRxvdTZqrGLBoYwWBp8rgR9J79SFDpSmepFFhiR6Ms1XQYNxm9kthduYbC8rvbn89Q3imHuQx18xNYZoo2o (1).jpeg

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
23 Comments
Ecency