My Actifit Report Card and Update: July 15 2023

Hi Everyone,

Time for another Actifit Report and Update. I have been busy with the Economics Challenge Series. I have posted challenges 2 and 3. Challenge 2 closes later today. I'm posting Challenge 4 tomorrow. Feels like it is moving along quite fast. The turnout has been great. All challenges have more than twelve participants. Therefore, the winners will earn maximum Hive Power.

I did a bit of shopping online. I bought a new Fitbit and laptop. I had not planned on buying either quite yet but I knew I was going to need to at some point in the next year. The Fitbit has struggled recently and the old laptop crashes sometimes and occasionally becomes incredibly slow.

Amazon had their Prime Day. This is a day they have large discounts (e.g 30%+) on certain items. Fitbits and laptops were both on offer. It made sense to take the deals rather than wait for my existing Fitbit and laptop to fail. The laptop is critical for my work. It would to buy a new one immediately if it completely failed. I used to have a very low end backup laptop but windows upgrades made it unusable.

My Content


As mentioned earlier, I have posted two challenges. Challenge 2: Pick-a-door and Challenge 3: Complements and Substitutes. Pick-a-door was in last year's Challenge Series. It is very simple game. It just involves selecting doors. The doors may or may not have a value behind them. High values have a low probability and low values have a high probability. Participants need to balance the risks and the payoffs.

ES_Challenge2_THUMB.jpg

Complements and Substitutes is a new challenge for this year. It is about understanding the relationships between different products. Some products go together like food and drink and some are alternatives to each other cakes and sweet pies. For this challenge, participants need to price three food items they sell to maximise profit. Unlike the Buying and Selling Games, all information is provided and none is generated. Knowledge of microeconomics and mathematics is essential for this challenge.

ES_Challenge3_THUMB.jpg

I have also been busy with book. I'm happy with my progress. I'm roughly 3/4 of the way through the body of content as a first draft. So far, so good. It is challenging and tiring but also a lot of fun. Some days the ideas just flow and everything fits together nicely. Other days are a real struggle. I'll have more to share soon.

That wraps up this week's Actifit Report and Update. I hope all of you have a nice weekend and a good week ahead. I can hear the rain pouring down outside. In terms of the weather, this has to be one of the most miserable Julys ever.


This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


15/07/2023
7096
Walking

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
9 Comments
Ecency