Irish Vegan Festival & Actifit Report Card

Hi Everyone,

I'm back with an Actifit Report and Update. It's been about 2 weeks since my previous report. I have been busy offline. I have only managed one post during this time. I have started work on a book. The only post I wrote, described what I aim to achieve with the book. I have wanted to write, complete, and publish a book for a few years. I put a lot into the content of a book last year but I have now decided to keep this content on Hive and link it through a PeakD collections post; will be available soon.

My new proposal for a book still relates to my content and is based on freedom. However, I am expressing my content in the form of a fictitious story. The story explains how many of the concepts I describe in my posts could play out in life. I do not intend to publish the book or any of chapters on Hive but I will provide updates on the progress of the story. Many of these updates will be included in my Actifit Reports.

Irish Vegan Festival

Yesterday our family went to the Irish Vegan Festival held at the Europa Hotel, Belfast. It's an annual event that we first attended in 2022. The event is in its tenth year. My sister and I were going to present like we did last year but unfortunately because of changes in the administration we got left out. We found out about our accidental exclusion a few weeks ago.

Despite not presenting, we still went to show our support for the event. The event was still pretty good. There was plenty of good food available. I believe the vendors were all small business. We all had acai bowls. My sister and I also had a large samosa each. My brother and my mum had a large spring roll each. We also bought a box of cannolas to take home with us.

Acai Bowl Vendor

Cannola Vendor

The vendors were spread over two floors and were in ball rooms. Most of the food vendors were on the second floor. Below are some of the vendors from the event.

After eating and having a good look round, we attended presentations. We arrived halfway through one presentation. It was about vegan activism and outreach with an emphasis on animal cruelty. The final section on use of language was interesting.

The next presentation was very interesting. It was about activists who expose the cruelty occurring in farms. It began with a video of a visit the activists made to a pig farm in Northern Ireland. The conditions on the farm were horrendous. Sadly, many farms are like the one shown in the video. The lady presenting described her experiences visiting these farms and exposing the cruelty.

The Grand National

Horse racing is a cruel industry. The Grand National, which was held over the weekend, is a public demonstration of this cruelty. This year, 3 horses died at the event. This is only the tip of the iceberg when it comes to cruelty in this industry. Most race horses die before they even compete. The industry is funded by gambling. I hope people realise there are less cruel ways to enjoy themselves. Below are a few posts I have written about horse racing.

Horse Racing – Supporting Addiction and Cruelty (Part 1)

Horse Racing – Supporting Addiction and Cruelty (Part 2)

The winner of the Melbourne Cup is ….

That wraps up my Actifit Post and Update. I hope everyone had a fulfilling weekend and I wish everyone has a great week ahead.


This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


16/04/2023
7953
Walking

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
11 Comments
Ecency