My Actifit Report Card and Update: December 14 2021

Hi Actifitters,

I hope everyone is having a great week. I've been keeping busy since my previous Actifit Report and Update. I needed to assemble the sun house before the next storm hit. I was very concerned after the storm last week. I thought several pieces might have been missing and my remaining pieces might have been badly damaged. To my relief, all the pieces were still there and the damage to the pieces was less serious than I first imagined.

I began work on Wednesday. I completed the remainder of the base, which was straight forward. I also assembled the main structural beams of the roof. This took several hours. I wanted to put the walls up but I only had an hour of daylight left. Instead, I organised the remaining pieces so that I could get to work quicker the next day. The biggest challenge was the rain. It rained almost the whole day. This made assembly trickier and the instructors took even more damage.

On Thursday, I began assembling the walls. This was very difficult. I needed the help of my mum to hold the panels in place while I screwed them in. It became more difficult as we progressed as the earlier panels were still very wobbly. We were lucky that it wasn't very windy. It was raining a little again. When we reached corner 3, the structure started to hold on its own a little. This made erecting the fourth wall much easier. With 4 walls up, it was still very unstable. We needed to put the frame of the roof up to stabilise the walls sufficiently to leave it for the night. It did not take long to put the first part of the roof frame up. It made a huge difference to the stability of the structure.

On Friday, I began by putting up the structural roof beams, which I assembled on Wednesday. I continued by putting up the roof beams that would support the roof panels. I think there were about 16 of these beams. This took a few hours to do. After lunch, with the help of my mum and a ladder, I put the roof panels on. This was quite challenging as I had to squeeze between beams and lean over panels to push in pins to join the panels. The overlapping panels were difficult to align. Then it started raining again. I finished just before dark. At the end of the day, I hooked the doors on.

Over the next couple of days I did a few touch ups on it. I added door handles. I added more screws to the base. I sealed up any cracks caused by the storm. I added the front piece to the roof. I checked for any screw holes I might have missed. I added seal to waterproof the windows. Overall, it turned out quite well. The electric screwdriver was a life saver. I did not have one on Wednesday and my wrists were killing me after that for a few days. The electric screwdriver saved hours of work.

Below are a few photographs of the sun house at this point. I still have a bit to do outside it.

My Content

Utility_Prov_Cons_THUMB.jpg

I only managed one post this week. In that post, I discuss production and consumption of utility. People contribute to the production of goods and services, which provide other people with utility. People then use the income they receive from producing goods and services to buy goods and services to obtain utility themselves. In essence, people provide utility to receive utility. The post considers how competition between businesses affects how people are rewarded for the work they do. The post also discusses how people provide utility to others in everyday life. This might not be paid with a salary or wage but it is rewarded in other ways, which also provides them with utility.

That wraps up this week's Actifit Report and Update. I hope you found my account of the assembly of the sun house entertaining and useful of you intend to put up a similar type of structure in your own garden.


This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


14/12/2021
7046
Gardening, Home Improvement

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
4 Comments
Ecency