From my chamber: A 14-years boy with right great toe fracture | IAAC #10

Hi there! Awesome people of the Hive blockchain! What's up? How is your new year 2021 so far? Hope that everything is happening according to your plan and expectation. I am also fine, Alhamdulillah. This is my 10th #iamalivechallenge post, the project run by @flaxz. This is also going to be my today's @actifit report. As usual, in the first section, I am going to share a case history of a teenage body who got a fracture at his right great toe. Then I am going to talk about some take-home messages based on my today's case history. In the next section, I am going to mention why am I grateful for today. And in the last section, I am going to share the proof of today's win. Please stay with me :)


The case history

Last evening one Omani teenager of 14-years of age came with his father. He came into my chamber with obvious limping indicating some problem in his right lower limb. He had a history of fall at home where he sustained an injury in his right foot, particularly at his great toe. A few hours after the incident, he started developing pain at the base of his right great toe. Several hours later they decided to visit a doctor.

I found the base of the right great toe red and swollen. It was severely tender on touch and movement of the toe as well. He had no problems in other parts of the right foot or other body parts.

I suggested an X-ray. It revealed a fracture at the proximal end of the first phalanx. I sent them to the orthopaedic department of a nearby government hospital for a POP (plaster of Paris).

x_ray_right_foot.png
X-ray of my patient. Taken from the X-ray department


Take-home messages:

According to the X-ray appearance, fractures can be divided into the following ways:

Incomplete fracture: A bone is broken but the ends are still connected. A bone is buckled or bent like the bending of a green-stick. It is commonly seen in a developing child’s bones.

Complete fracture: When a bone is completely broken into two or more pieces.

Transverse fracture: It is one type of complete fracture where the fractured ends are horizontal in position. After reduction [the process of putting the ends together, and placing external support (e.g. splint or POP)], the ends remain in place.

Oblique or spiral fracture: It is another type of complete fracture. The ends are not horizontally placed. After reduction, the chance of slipping from one end over another is more.

Impacted fracture: A complete fracture where the fracture ends jammed in one another leaving no distinct fracture line.

Segmental fracture: Another complete fracture. However, a double fracture is found in a long bone leaving a segment of bone in between two ends of the bone.
fractures.png

a) Incomplete (‘greenstick’) fracture of the ulna; (b) displaced transverse fracture; (c) oblique fracture; (d) spiral fracture, due to a twisting force ; (e) segmental fracture

Reference (Text and image): Apley's and Solomans consise system of orthopedic and trauma, 4th edition; page: 326


Why am I grateful for today?

I am grateful to my Lord (Allah) because I am alive today.
I am grateful to my creator because despite of multiple falls in this short life, I have never got a fracture bone.
I am grateful to Allah because He made me a doctor, to whom a patient with illness visits for the treatment.

Alhamdulillah!


My previous posts, containing take-home messages. [ Descending order: Newest to oldest]


My today's proof for win. A project run by @wil.metcalfe and @adventureready.


hafiz34.gif
This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


12882
Aerobics, Daily Activity, Moving Around Office, Play with kids/grand kids, Treadmill
Height
165 cm
Weight
68.8 kg
Body Fat
%
Waist
cm
Thighs
cm
Chest
cm

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
5 Comments
Ecency