From my chamber: A child with HSP | IAAC #9

Hello, wonderful people of Hive! How are you? Hope that you are having a fantastic day. I am also fine, Alhamdulillah. This is my 9th #iamalivechallenge post, the project run by @flaxz. This is also going to be my today's @actifit report. As usual, in the first section, I am going to share a case history of a child I saw this afternoon in my chamber. Then I am going to talk about some take-home messages based on my today's case history. In the next section, I am going to mention why am I grateful today. And at the last section, I am going to share the proof of today's win. Please stay with me :)


A case history of a young boy

Today afternoon one Omani child of 7-years of age came with his parents. He was looking sick from the first impression. He came to me with the complaints of upper abdominal pain with mild distension, no passage of stool and lack of appetite for the last 2 days. He also noticed some red rashes on his right wrist and legs. However, he had a significant recent illness history. I am going to share the history first.

Around 2 weeks earlier, he at first developed some rashes in some parts of his body. The rash was associated with abdominal pain and both knee joints pain. He was taken to the multidisciplinary hospital where all the necessary investigations were done. He was diagnosed as a case of Henoch–Schönlein purpura (HSP). He was treated with steroids and his condition improved gradually. He was released from the hospital 2 days ago. Then he started having the symptoms which led them to my clinic.

I examined the boy. He was quite wasted and fatigued. However, most of the vitals were within normal limits except mild pallor. There was mild tenderness in his upper abdomen. I found the features of gaseous distension. His lungs were normal, however, on exertion, he was having mild breathing difficulties.

I also found a few red rashes on this right wrist and in both of his legs. According to the parents, the new rashes started appearing after getting released from the hospital. He wasn’t having any knee joint pain at my chamber.

His current presentation had more than one explanation. This abdominal pain and mild distension could have been attributed to the stress, recent use of steroids, no-passage of stool, not eating properly etc. However, it could be the early symptoms of the return of his original disease, that is HSP.

I gave some symptomatic management and told them to return to the previous hospital if the pain and distension do not subsidies with the medicine. Or if the rashes spread to more body parts.


Take-home messages: Henoch–Schönlein purpura (HSP)

hsp.jpg
Image of the petechial rashes image source

It is a disease commonly found in children. However, it can be found in adults.

It presents with 4 types of features:

  • Some rashes in the body. Most commonly found in the buttocks and lower legs. In medical terms, it is called petechial rash.
  • Pain in the abdomen and sometimes, bleeding from the GI tract.
  • Joints pain
  • Kidneys involvement; the passage of blood and protein in the urine. Sometimes, a patient can see the blood (red-coloured urine).

It is considered as a vasculitic disease, meaning there is inflammation at the blood vessel itself. It is sometimes seen in response to some infections in the body.

In the case of children, the disease prognosis is good. It may resolve spontaneously. However, there are chances of relapses. In some severe cases, steroids are needed.

Reference: Davidson’s principle and practice of Medicine; Edition: 23rd; page: 401


Why am I grateful for today?

I am grateful to Allah because I am alive today.

I am grateful to my Creator because in my childhood I didn't suffer from HSP.

I am grateful to the Almighty because He made a doctor and is giving me chances to treat the patients.

All praise to be for Allah. Alhamdulillah.


Here is my today's #win. It is project initiated by @wil.metcalfe and @adventureready.


This report was published via Actifit app (Android | iOS). Check out the original version here on actifit.io


12596
Aerobics, Daily Activity, Moving Around Office, Play with kids/grand kids, Treadmill, Walking
Height
165 cm
Weight
68.8 kg
Body Fat
%
Waist
cm
Thighs
cm
Chest
cm

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
3 Comments
Ecency