August 24 2020

It's Monday already?

So I had another busy weekday shift at a Water Treatment Plant. Spent the morning digging out two jammed-up, totally-bridged-over screw conveyors first thing.

That was tough work due to the awkward position of the machinery and the sheer amount of sludge that had piled up inside the hopper.

So why did this happen?

I'm glad you asked.

The manager very kindly offered to help me discharge both the presses on Friday when I was working on my own.

Usually I'm one in a team of four onsite.

Unfortunately, however, in his eagerness to get the work done quickly, he's gone and discharged more sludge than the screw conveyors could, well... convey, away from the machine, so it built up and eventually jammed.

I have been warned from a few of my co-workers to watch in case this happens during a press discharge, but in the year I've been working at this site I haven't actually seen or had to deal with it, thankfully.

Anyway, I look on the bright side. It got me some good exercise. We had a laugh about it afterward. All good.

Sludge stockpile

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
2 Comments
Ecency