Friday Finance 8/4/2023: I Scream, You Scream!

IMG20230724185316.jpg


Just about a week ago I returned home from my second big vacation (holiday) of the summer. About once a year my inlaws all get together at a rental location and we spend a week or so hanging out, playing games, and having a good time.

Now that I finished up the posts about my first vacation, it's time to move along to that second trip. Lucky for you, I took plenty of pictures to commemorate the occasion. Just a little over 100 photos to be exact!

Once again, this Friday post is going to be a mash up of interesting financial stuff I have heard, seen, imagined, and also a #marketfriday post hosted by @dswigle. I've really started to enjoy sharing these small town joints and enshrining them on the blockchain for all eternity (or whenever...).

finance Friday.png


It is time again for another Finance Friday/Friday Finance. This is a series I started where I talk about random bits of financial stuff that I have seen, gathered, or experienced during the week. I hope as a reader you find it informational, entertaining, or both. I also hope it can generate some good discussion and edify the Leo community.

If you still bother spending a fraction of your time on Twitter (or "X" now I guess), there is an account called "@ coinfessions" (I had to add the space so Hive wouldn't tag it) that I have been following for a while now. It is pretty interesting and definitely an account that will give you all the feels.

Basically, it is just different peoples stories about how they won or lost big in crypto. Sometimes they are funny, sometimes they are heartbreaking, and other times they are just good reminders of the tenants of cryptocurrency:

"Never invest more than you are willing to lose", and "Not your keys, not your crypto".

I find it a lot more entertaining than a lot of the other crap that is available on that platform these days. Check it out when you get a chance.

FUD

It sure does feel like the FUD monster is still in full force doesn't it? I'm really starting to believe in the whole four year cycle thing. I don't think we are really going to see some movement until that kicks in. That's the way it feels right now anyway. Trust me, I'd love to see some late 2023 upwards movement, but I am not holding my breath.

Right now it feels like the cycle reigns supreme. I guess time will tell if that holds as well.

USDC

I've been dollar cost averaging into USDC for a while now. Coinbase has a pretty favorable outlook in USDC that makes it a bit of a no-brainer for me. They give you something like 4.5% interest on your holdings and they let you trade it into other tokens with reduced fees. My plan has been to get a good stash of USDC together so if the price of BTC suddenly drops I can quickly pick some up.

This whole thing with CURVE had me a little concerned about USDC depegging, but it seems to be holding up pretty well so far. Again, who knows what the future holds, I only invest about $20 a month into USDC, but if another stable falls, I think it will be a pretty bad thing for crypto in general.

Now that we have the doom and gloom out of the way, let's get to the good stuff!

IMG20230725083526.jpg


Tucked away in the "thumb" of Michigan is a little village called Grindstone City (technically it's Port Austin), and in that village you will find The Grindstone General Store. If you look at a map or satellite imagine of the state of Michigan, it is shaped like a hand or mitten. The "thumb" is the area to the East of Saginaw Bay where your thumb would be if it were a left hand.

If you have ever met someone from Michigan and you ask them where they live, they will likely put their hand up and show you versus trying to explain it to you. It's a Michigan thing...

IMG20230725083515.jpg


I'll be doing more posts about Grindstone in the future, but for now, all that matters is the ice cream. Grindstone General Store has made a name for themselves by serving generous portions of ice cream to their patrons.

In all honesty, I don't find the ice cream to be that high of quality, which I think is how they get away with serving such large scoops. That being said, mediocre ice cream is still better than no ice cream, so you can't really complain right?

IMG20230724185555.jpg


Believe it or not, this is considered a single scoop. As you can see, they have several souvenirs in the shop, but the main reason that people visit this place is for the ice cream.

IMG20230725083512.jpg


@mrsbozz and I took a walk one morning and we were able to catch Grindstone General Store while it was pretty deserted. Make no mistake, come evening or middle of the day on a weekend, this place is packed! All of the parking spots are filled along with the tables and cars line the side of the road with people waiting in line to get their hands on some ice cream.

IMG20230725083533.jpg


According to their sign, they were established in 1886 and it makes you wonder how big of a part ice cream played in their business back in the day. Did they even have refrigeration back in 1886? I want to say no, but then again I could be totally wrong!

It's always fun to visit the little places like this that draw locals and tourists alike from all over the place to sample their goods.

If you are ever in the area, hungry for ice cream, and looking for quantity over quality, I highly recommend stopping in to the Grindstone General Store. I did notice that they have some sorbets that are purported to be home made. I didn't try those, but I might next time I visit to see if they outshine the ice cream.

Oh, and don't forget to tip your scoopers!


Sports Talk Social - @bozz.sports


TEAMUSAhive_footer_bozz.jpg


All pictures/screenshots taken by myself or @mrsbozz unless otherwise sourced

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
25 Comments
Ecency