The Artist's Paradox Returns

2FFvzA2zeqoVJ2SVhDmmumdPfnVEcahMce9nMwwksSDdRvPeFHvwdzJUrp9XoHP9xrWiWbpprC6E6Bata1D4dnEw1YuaiBbQzy1ueuDgtUaZzNWNeHRbnFKwEAxJz 2.jpg

About A Year Ago ..

I wrote a post about The Hobby Artist's Paradox. I was sifting through my desk today at work, looking for who knows what, when I was reminded of this. The 'Paradox' had followed me to work! The gist of that post was that a hobby artist, especially this one (ME), tends to create but not part with their creations.. or at least not very often.

Molly takes a rest in one of her MANY beds. This one is in my office/studio. There are roughly 100-150 pieces I have created, conveniently stored and lingering above her head on those shelves.

IMG_9047.JPG

Here, the late but great Mr Pepper, guarded over a few while I shot a photo for the above mentioned post.

2FFvzA2zeqoVJ2SVhDmmumdPfnVEcahMce9nMwwksSDdRvPeFHvwdzJUrp9XoHP9xrWiWbpprC6E6Bata1D4dnEw1YuaiBbQzy1ueuDgtUaZzNWNeHRbnFKwEAxJz.jpg

I took a few minutes and sifted through the creations.. Mostly fun little drawings, all in the same sketchbook, and all that took no longer than 15 minutes to an hour. Most of the drawings I did on my lunch hour in an attempt to clear my head. I have since slacked off on creating anything in that book, or anything in general. I mean to correct that soon.

IMG_9317.JPG

So What's In This Book??.. A little bit of this and a little bit of that. And you guessed it, nothing I have been able to part with. Back to that paradox I was talking about a bit ago. Nothing in the book is all that good anyhow, so that in itself makes it easier to just tuck the book away and out of sight. My goal was to fill the book by the end of the year 2021, but that goal came and went.

IMG_9318.JPG

I even surprised myself.. With the variety of stuff I created. I have some blind contour stuff in there that I actually really really like. Odo made it in the lot. I created that one in memory of René Auberjonois, who played Odo on Star Trek. This was a blind contour drawing.

IMG_9319.JPG

Einstein made it into the book, also as a blind contour drawing. Blind contours are fun, easy, and really aid in clearing the head and resetting the mind so I can get through the rest of the afternoon. Einstein was a little more involved, but it came out very cool.

IMG_9322.JPG

I laughed when I caught a glimpse of the 'Three Ladies'. Three cows standing in a line looking back at us. Cute but funny at the same time. Also a blind contour drawing. Maybe I create more of these than I remember creating. Like I said, they are pretty fun to make.

IMG_9324.JPG

I do have a softer side as well. I drew a sketch of my buddy's dog Nadi. She is such a cutie. You can check some of his posts out here on Hive under the handle @gooddream. On occasion he will include pictures of her in his posts. I was reading one of the posts and felt moved to draw her from one of the many photos he had displayed there.

IMG_9323.JPG

Sometimes I feel like I need a drink (at work and before I get home), but never drink while on the job. My head needs to be clear and sharp to deal with all sorts of good and bad issues that arise. Soooo... since I can not drink, why not pour a nice glass of wine in drawing form??!! Sure and so that's what I did.

IMG_9321.JPG

I can't leave the Jeep out of this post, now can I? As I was flipping through, this blind contour drawing of my Jeep TJ caught my eye. Again I smiled and was flooded with thoughts of summer and topless Jeep rides. Ummmm.. I meant the Jeep would be topless, not me. Trust me, no one wants to see me driving around without a shirt.

IMG_9320.JPG

Over My Christmas Break ..

I did attempt to draw something, then got side tracked and into something else. I have the start of another Jeep drawing, but this time I was going to draw her sitting on the beach. I have the basic drawing down and that's about it. I really want to pen this one in and then add oil paint over top of it. I have done this style several times and like the way they come out.

1612907254849.png

4253487D5F654C93BE3B32AB0401CE27.jpeg
CB642D1A01DA45C2A08772F12B2F683C.jpeg

It's A Poor Excuse.. Whatever that excuse may be that parts my lips. The truth is that drawing, painting, CREATING relaxes me and I have no clue why I can't get back on the creation train. I will, when the time is right.

As far as that paradox goes, I'll try my best to correct that too! (No Promises)

Hive text divider.png

665956656.png

“Create. Not for the money. Not for the fame. Not for the recognition. But for the pure joy of creating something and sharing it.”
― Ernest Barbaric

Hive text divider.png

text16.png

Thank you for swinging by my blog and checking out the post. Have a great day!

text16.png

Untitled.jpg

text16.png

All words, pictures and art pieces are the sole property of B D Miller Gallery, unless otherwise noted and credited, and are not to be reproduced or copied without the prior written consent of B D Miller Gallery.

Hive text divider.png

About Me ~ The Artist

My art work incorporates a wide variety of subject matter, including landscape, seascape, cityscape, and still life images. My works are the product of a continuing process of exploration through which I seek to portray personal and visionary interpretations of my surroundings. My paintings are impressions of places and events from everyday life, an interpretation of my imagination, and personal responses to what I see and feel on a daily basis. More recently I have invested generous amounts of time into my landscape painting. I am surrounded by natural and man made beauty, which inherently presents itself in the tri-state area, and almost demands that I paint it.

Not everything is art. Art is not everything, but it comes close. Art is everywhere and all the time. Art makes you experience the beauty of the world, the people in it, and the places we call home. Art itself is so influential that it can tell stories, show feelings, and express passion or fury. Art exists in addition to language; expression of sensations and thoughts, revealing a way of thinking too subtle and delicate for words.

For me art requires love, honesty and perseverance. In return, it reveals some personal, non-analyzable, and creative untamed passion. For the public, art with its magnificent beauty, improves mood and health and builds better human beings and communities. It engages the intellect, softens the heart, strengthens the soul and frees the spirit.

Hive text divider.png

If Your Interested In Purchasing Any Of My Work:

They can be found for sale on

Saatchi Art

Or

Etsy

If you don't see the piece in either shop, It may still be drying. Let me know and I can upload it as soon as possible to be available. Or you can always make me an offer (in HBD, Hive or any other crypto) in the comments section of this post. If we agree on a price, I will then ship the painting to you. (shipping costs will be determined by your location).

Hive text divider.png

H2
H3
H4
3 columns
2 columns
1 column
10 Comments
Ecency